Fri. Sports July 16, 2010

Written by on July 16, 2010 in Sports

MPHS baseball team opens up tournament play tonight when they host a 3A district double header. In the first game Washington and Keokuk (5-21) do battle at Maple Leaf Field at 5pm Then the Panthers (21-9) play Ft. Madison (8-24). KILJ-FM 105.5 and will carry the M.P. game live. Tonight’ – ‘s winners will meet Monday night in Mt. Pleasant for a District final. The other half of the sub-state plays at Centerville tonight. 5pm game has Knoxville vs Chariton and at 7pm Fairfield plays the host Big Red.

Class 1A District semi final baseball last night saw Highland defeat New London 9-3 at Highland. Kyle Helmerson was losing pitcher, he threw one and a third innings before arm stiffness forced him to hand the ball to the Tiger relief staff. Grant McPheron finished the second inning and Austin Allen threw the rest. Tanner Earp had a homerun and a double to lead the Tiger’ – ‘s 10 hit attack, Kyle Helmerson was 4-4 with a triple and Austin Allen went 3-4. Highland will play Burlington Notre Dame in the District final at Mt. Pleasant’ – ‘s Maple Leaf Field Saturday night at 7pm The Nikes beat Danville last night 4-2 in the other semi final game.

All Southeast Conference softball teams have been announced. Co-Conference Players of the Year : Morgan Louck – Fort Madison, Hannah Washburn – Keokuk

Mt. Pleasant 1st Team All SEC selection: Sammi Goble

Mt. Pleasant 2nd Team All SOUTHEAST CONFERENCE selection: Emily Prellwitz

Mt. Pleasant Honorable Mention All SOUTHEAST CONFERENCE selection: Leslie Taylor, and Haleigh Cowan

Mt. Pleasant Academic All SOUTHEAST CONFERENCE honors went to: Emily Prellwitz, Rebekah Kimzey, and Steph Myers

The Mt. Pleasant 12 and under Cal Ripken baseball team won the state championship in Iowa City Wednesday. They finished undefeated against teams from Iowa City, Tri County East and West and Manchester. The team is coached by David Christner, Phil Swailes and Drew Schumacher. Team members are: Garret Baker, Tyler Batten, Cale Christner, Thomas Garr, Gavin Howard, Darren Hunter, Austin Meyer, Matt Niebuhr, Jake Pieper, Wolfgang Schumacher, Paton Schull and Levi Stevens. The team now advances to the regional tournament in Kalona later this month.

Kansas City Royals begin the second half of the season with a weekend series at home with Oakland action begins tonight on KILJ-AM 1130 at 6:35pm.

Leave a Comment