Sports June 27, 2011

Written by on June 27, 2011 in Sports

MPHS softball at Burlington Friday night ended in a Grayhound sweep 10-0 and 2-0. Sammi Goble pitched the first game and Jenna Stuekerjurgen pitched the second. M.P. had no hits in the first game and Sammi Goble had one hit in the second. The tournament the Panthers were to host Saturday was rained out.
Softball tonight: Davenport Assumption at Burlington, Cardinal at #5 W. Burlington-Notre Dame, Columbus Community at IMS, Pekin at L&M, #13 Mediapolis at Wapello, Waco at Lone Tree, WMU at Highland, Danville at New London, Harmony at Moulton-Udell, Holy Trinity Catholic at Van Buren, Ft. Madison at Fairfield, #6 Keokuk at Washington.

Some of the area softball teams have been ranked in the 5th poll of softball ratings from the IGHSAU. Burlington is #5 in class 4A, Des Moines East is #1. Keokuk is #6 in class 3A with Clear Creek Amana #1.
Class 2A has W. Burlington/Notre Dame 5th and Mediapolis 13th, Central Springs is #1.
Akron Westfield is #1 in class 1A no S.E. Iowa teams are ranked in the top 15.

MPHS baseball team picked up a win Friday night at Ottumwa 6-3, Braden Shull was the winning pitcher and was 2-4 at the plate. Tanner Courtney and Henry Krieger-Coble had doubles. Panthers are now 15-5 and host North Scott Wednesday night and KILJ-FM will broadcast the first game beginning at 5 p.m.
Games tonight: Burlington at Davenport Assumption, Notre Dame at Central Lee, W. Burlington at Cardinal of Eldon, Columbus at Wapello, L&M at Highland, WMU/Waco at Lone Tree, New London at Danville, Holy Trinity Catholic at Van Buren, Ft. Madison at Fairfield, Keokuk at Washington.

Natalie Booton of the Mt. Pleasant High School girls golf team has been selected to the class 3A second team all state squad by the Iowa Girls Golf Coaches Association. Natalie was the #1 golfer on the MPHS team this past season and will be a senior this fall at M.P.

The Iowa State Letterwinners Club announced today Iowa State’s Hall of Fame class of 2011. Five former Cyclone greats will be inducted into the Iowa State Hall of Fame on Sept. 2 in a special ceremony at the Gateway Center Hotel in Ames. The inductees will be honored at halftime of the Iowa State-UNI football game on Sept. 3.
The Iowa State University Hall of Fame was established in 1997 and 134 Cyclone legends have been enshrined. To purchase tickets to the ceremony, contact Diane Shearer or Ryan McGuire in the ISU Development office at 515-294-5022.
One of the inductees this year will be former Marquette of West point High School volleyball standout Steph McCannon
•Two-time All-Big Eight selection (1994, 1995).
•Third-Team All-Mideast Region (1994).
•Big Eight’s all-time leader in digs (1,904).
•Led Iowa State to its first-ever NCAA appearance in 1995.

Comments are closed.