Sports June 28th 2011

Written by on June 28, 2011 in Sports

Area softball games from Monday night, Burlington won twice over Davenport Assumption 7-1 and 3-2, #13 Mediapolis beat Wapello 18-2, Ft. Madison swept Fairfield 9-7 and 9-6, Highland rolled over WMU 11-3, Danville 6 New London 2, Van Buren beat Holy Trinity Catholic 15-5, Pekin 9 L&M 0, Columbus defeated IMS 4-2.
Softball tonight: Harmony at New London, Centerville at Ft. Madison, Holy Trinity Catholic at Danville, Wapello at WMU, Waco at Pekin, Burlington at Muscatine, W. Burlington-Notre Dame at Van Buren, Highland at Columbus, IMS at L&M, Lone tree at Mediapolis.

Area baseball results from Monday: WMU/Waco split with Lone Tree Wolves won the opener 6-2 Lions won the 2nd game 8-6, Ft. Madison beat Fairfield twice 4-3 and 4-2, Davenport Assumption pounded Burlington twice 10-0 and 12-2, W. Burlington beat Cardinal 8-3, Central Lee 8 Notre Dame 7, Van Buren 18 Holy Trinity Catholic 1, Wapello beat Columbus Community in a double header 12-0 and 7-0.
Baseball today: New London at Harmony, Muscatine at Ft. Madison, Danville at holy trinity Catholic, Van Buren at W. Burlington, Cardinal at Notre Dame.
Latest rankings of baseball teams has S.E. Polk #1 in class 4A, Solon is #1 in 3A, Carroll Kuemper #1 in 2A with Van Buren ranked #3. Martensdale St. Mary’s is #1 in class 1A.

The Iowa State Letter winners Club announced today Iowa State’s Hall of Fame class of 2011. Five former Cyclone greats will be inducted into the Iowa State Hall of Fame on Sept. 2 in a special ceremony at the Gateway Center Hotel in Ames. The inductees will be honored at halftime of the Iowa State-UNI football game on Sept. 3.
The Iowa State University Hall of Fame was established in 1997 and 134 Cyclone legends have been enshrined. To purchase tickets to the ceremony, contact Diane Shearer or Ryan McGuire in the ISU Development office at 515-294-5022.
One of the inductees this year will be former Marquette of West point High School volleyball standout Steph McCannon
•Two-time All-Big Eight selection (1994, 1995).
•Third-Team All-Mideast Region (1994).
•Big Eight’s all-time leader in digs (1,904).
•Led Iowa State to its first-ever NCAA appearance in 1995.

Comments are closed.