July 22, 2011

Written by on July 22, 2011 in Sports

West Burlington-Notre Dame has made it to the class 2A championship game at the 2011 state summer softball championships in Ft. Dodge. The Lady Falcons downed Mid Prairie 8-3 in the semi finals Thursday, the 5th ranked WB-ND team will now tangle with 11th ranked Iowa City Regina in the finals to be played at 5 p.m. tonight. Regina defeated #2 ranked Bondurant Farrar 5-4 in the semis.

Burlington fell in their 4A semi final game against Ankeny 4-0 at the state softball championships. Grayhounds will play in the consolation championship game at noon today against Pleasant Valley. Ankeny will meet Des Moines East in the 4a title game at 1 p.m. today.

The 2011 Mt. Pleasant wrestling clinic will be held this Saturday July 23rd from 1-4 p.m. at the MPHS wrestling room. The clinic is for wrestlers in grades K-12. Mark Ironside, 4 time big ten champion, 2 time NCAA National Champion and Hodge Award winner will be the instructor. The fee is $25 per person at the door. Registration is 12:15-12:45. Learn the basics of wrestling from one of the sports best.


First Team Second Team
Pitcher Lucas Kemp, Sr – L&M Camerson Gingerich, So – IMS
Josh Sterling, Jr – Pekin Adam Gerling, Sr – Mediapolis
Jacob Hootman, So – Highland Derek Martinez, Sr – Lone Tree
Catcher Riley Hochstedler, Sr – IMS Tyson Lamb, Jr – Pekin
Dallas Gilleland, Sr – L-M Jacob LaFayette, Sr – Wapello
Infield Jackson Brokaw, Sr – IMS Bailey Donovan, Jr – Pekin
Wil Janssen, Jr – Mediapolis Nathan Volk, Sr – Lone Tree
Ruger Carpenter, Jr – Wapello Ron Winkle, So – L-M
Logan Michel, Jr – Highland Dan Laroche, Sr – Highland
Grant Edwards, Sr – WMU/WACO Blake Kemp, Fr – L-M
Outfield Christopher, Perez, Jr – IMS Jordan Quigley, So – Lone Tree
Jacob Darbyshire, Jr – Mediapolis Jacob Tate, So – Highland
Dexter Bieri, Sr – L-M Nick Agnew, Sr – Mediapolis
Cristian Staley, Sr – L-M Brandon Lincoln, So – Wapello
Utility Logan Lanz, Sr – Wapello Andrew Dodson, So – Lone Tree
Tater Clubb, Jr – Pekin Ethan Gingerich, Sr – IMS
Justin VanEst, Sr – L-M Derek Morales, Jr – Pekin
Gage Carpenter, So – Wapello Skyler Davis, Jr – WMU/WACO


First Team Second Team
Pitcher Kyle Helmerson, Sr – New London Dalton Stevens, Jr – Danville
Kyle Mescher, Sr – ND Thomas Benner, Jr – Central Lee
Catcher Mitchell Bartholomew, Jr – Van Buren Caleb Titus, Sr – Danville
Lucas Giertz, Jr – Notre Dame Brandon Hudson, Sr – Harmony
Infield Jory Heckenberg, Sr – Van Buren Jacob Brooks, Sr – Danville
Taylor Newland, Sr – West Burlington Braydon Roberts, Sr – West Burllington
Skylar Schmeiser, Sr – West Burlington Charlie Rachford, Fr – Cardinal
Austin Allen, Sr – New London Caleb Millard, Sr – Van Buren
Blake Scott, Jr – Van Buren Tony Huffman, Jr – Notre Dame
Outfield Austin Lowary, Sr – Notre Dame Joe Olson, Sr – Cardinal
Chris Wilson, Sr – Van Buren Ty Smith, Jr – Van Buren
Brody Blint, Sr – Danville Kyle Krauter, Jr – Central Lee
Brock Mickelson, Sr – Central Lee Matayo Christianer, Fr – New London
Caleb McDowell, Jr – West Burlington Utility Dalton Bryant, Jr – Central Lee Spencer Pfeiff, Jr – Notre Dame
Court Garrett, Sr – Van Buren Cowan Hayes, Sr – West Burlington
Kris Millard, Sr – New London Devon Broeker, So – Central Lee
Brady Klein, Jr – Notre Dame Sam Schlegel, Jr – Cardinal
Colton Sepeda, Jr – West Burlington

DUE TO THE EXCESSIVE HEAT INDEX THIS WEEK… 34 Raceway in Burlington will be starting their racing program ONE HOUR later than normal. Pit gates will still open 4:30, Grandstands 6:00, Drivers Meeting 7:15, Hotlaps 7:30, and racing to follow… Points racing is coming down to the last few weeks… Don’t miss out on this spectacular night of racing action! Adult G/S $10, Seniors $8, Students $7, Kids 10 and under FREE w/ paid adult. $22 Pit pass…

There is a hunter education class coming up soon for anyone over the age of 12 years old. The classes are mandatory for anyone born after January 1, 1972 that would like to obtain a hunting license. A class is coming up September 7th and 8th from 6 to 9:30 p.m. And from 8 a.m. till completion on September 10th. Pick up a workbook at the Henry County Conservation office at Oakland Mills, Guns Ltd. In Mt. Pleasant or at Big Creek Outdoor Supply. Contact Jim Onorato 931-7424 or Dan Henderson 653-1636 for more information. The classes will be held at the Iowa State Patrol Post 13 office in Mt. Pleasant.

Vintage Cars and Cornbelt Clash For Late Models coming to CJ Speedway COLUMBUS JUNCTION, IA – There will be plenty of racing action coming up at CJ Speedway in Columbus Junction in the next few weeks.
Friday, July 22 will be point race action for the late models, IMCA Stock Cars, Modifieds, IMCA Sport Compacts and Mod Lites.
Then come back Saturday when the Vintage Club pulls into CJ. There will be hot laps, heats and features. Gates open at noon, races @ 3.
Grandstand admission is free and everyone through the front gate gets
$2 off a regular point night of Friday night racing.
The Louisa County Fair kicks off July 24 and there will be double the
racing. On Thursday, July 28 the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series
will draw some of the best in late model racing to the 4/10 mile racing 35 laps for $3000 to win prize. Also on the card will be Modifieds, IMCA Sport Compacts and Mod Lites.
Racing will be back again then Friday, July 29 for more point race action on Screamer Express Night. Catch the late models, modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, Mod Lites and IMCA Sport Compacts racing for points.
Mark your calendars for Friday, August 12 for the Mincer Ford and Columbus Junction State Bank Summer Shootout for IMCA Stock Cars. With the added $200 from Jim Redmann/Preferred Auto the winner will take home $700 to win the 25 lap feature.

The 39th Iowa Shrine Bowl All Star Football Classic will is July 23, 2011. The game is at 7pm at the Jack Trice Stadium, Iowa State University, in Ames, Iowa, gates open at 5pm. There will also be a parade on Main Street Ames at 9:30 that morning followed by an autograph session.
There are several KILJ area players that will be playing on the south squad team. They are:
Troy Farrier from WACO
Taylor Newland from West Burlington
Patrick Frank from Sigourney-Keota
Brody Blint from Danville
Blake Lamphier from North Mahaska
Mike Smithburg from Fairfield

Comments are closed.