Cheer Squad Opens Season with First Place

Written by on August 29, 2011 in News

The 2011-2012 MPHS Competition Cheerleading Squad opened their season at The Westdale Mall Spirit Competition in Cedar Rapids on Saturday, August 27th defeating 7 Iowa schools for a first place trophy in the High School Cheer Division. Members of the squad are: First row: Hailie Baccam, Katherine Hall, Claire Melzer, Shelby Gillis, Amy Buckert, Morgan Barton, Michaela Mathews, Jenny Miller, Andrea Glick, Chelsey Stark, Jayde Mumme, Sarah Robb, Courtney Mabeus, Marla Anderson, Hollie Mathews, MacKena Steenblock, Tasha Vancil, and Leslie Taylor. The MP Cheerleaders will be competing at several contests around the state in the next few months, with the Iowa State Cheerleading Championships being the grand finale on November 5th in Des Moines. The group is coached by Tracey Shull.

Comments are closed.