Superstarts Singing Competition at the Sondheim

Written by on September 28, 2011 in News

The Superstars Singing Competition returns to the Sondheim Theater on Saturday, October 8th, at 7:30 pm with a $1,000 first prize. A near capacity audience saw Superstars 2010 and voted Priscilla Marlar the winner in a highly charged and fun evening of entertainment.
This year, Superstars has gone national with contestants from California, Florida, Indiana, North Carolina, Minnesota and, of course, Iowa competing this year. The competition is expected to be fierce, with the audience facing a difficult choice in determining the Superstar for 2011.
Rob Steinberg, producer of the event said: “We are absolutely stunned by the quality level of these singers. Last year, Superstars was one of the best rated of the Sondheim shows, and this year’s show is sure to be extremely fun and entertaining. Music will include hits by Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston, Celine Dion, John Mayer, Nat King Cole, Adele, Broadway hits, and more. ”
The FACC is offering a very low price early bird special to those who purchase their tickets on or before September 30 either on line (www. or at the FACC ticket office (noon to 5 pm every week day) of $12 for adults and $9 for children and seniors.
The way the competition will work is that the 12 finalists will sing. During intermission, the audience will vote by ballot for their winner. The 4 super-finalists will then sing, and the judges will narrow it down to the final two. The audience will then vote on the winner.
National finalists include Aaron Alan from Minnesota who has starred in numerous musicals in the Midwest including Miss Saigon, South Pacific, Chicago, The Producers and Hairspray (this summer). Also competing will be Laura Thoreson, a student in the Masters of Vocal Performance Program at Indiana who studies with a top (if not the top) vocal teacher in the United States. Coming in from Los Angeles, California is Michelle Craft, who studies at the prestigious American Musical and Dramatic Academy. Danece Van Soelen from Des Moines Iowa, who won the Cambridge Idol competition, will also compete, along with two University of Iowa music students: Amy Toruno who was a finalist in a televised singing competition in Miami, Florida, and 18 year old Rachel Mione from Cedar Rapids (a senior at Iowa).
Joey Russell from Bloomfield, Iowa, a vocal performance major at Simpson College in Des Moines, and Wesley Brown, who studied music at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, also are finalists. Finally, two Ottumwa singers, Astred Doud and Roy Belzer, as well as two Fairfield singers, Andy Toepel and Sarah Sica, will seek the $1,000 first prize.
Tickets purchased the week before or day of the show at ( or at the FACC ticket office (12-5 pm on week days) will be $15 for adults and $12 for students and seniors.

Comments are closed.