Counties approved for disaster funding for conservation practices

Written by on October 26, 2011 in News

The Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Division of Soil Conservation has announced that Governor Branstad’s request for a Secretarial disaster designation was granted by USDA. The declaration applies to 27 counties that were affected by severe storms, excessive rain and flooding during the 2011 crop year. Thirty-three contiguous counties are also covered by the designation. The 27 counties included in this declaration are Clarke, Davis, Decatur, Fremont, Henry, Jefferson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lucas, Mahaska, Marshall, Mills, Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, Page, Polk, Tama, Taylor, Van Buren, Wapello, Washington, Wayne, Woodbury. The additional 33 counties were named as contiguous disaster counties include Adams, Appanoose, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Buchanan, Cass, Cedar, Cherokee, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Delaware, Des Moines, Dubuque, Grundy, Hardin, Harrison, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Muscatine, Plymouth, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Story, Union and Warren.

The Division of Soil Conservation will begin offering funding to repair conservation practices in these sixty counties. These practices include terraces, basins, waterways, and other practices that have a soil conservation design. Applications will be accepted at Soil & Water Conservation District’s through December 31, 2011 and the repairs must be complete by June 30, 2012. The maximum cost share rate for practices will be 75 percent from all sources. The program cannot be used to maintain practices or repair practices that were damaged because of lack of maintenance. Contact the Henry County Soil & Water Conservation District at 319-385-2824 ext. 3 or stop by the USDA building located at 709 S. Iris Street in Mt. Pleasant for more information or to apply.

Comments are closed.