Written by on October 29, 2011 in Sports

Holy Trinity Catholic ranked #3 in class 1A volleyball showed how they earned that lofty placing after beating a talented New London team 3-0 in the regional semi final at HTC. Crusaders handled the Tigers 25-16, 25-13, 25-11 to move onto the regional finals Tuesday night at Washington against HLV who downed BGM 3-1 in semi final play. KILJ-FM 105.5 and will carry the match live at 7 p.m.
Mikaela Foecke had 19 kills to lead the Holy Trinity offense, she also had 2 blocks and 2 ace serves. Ashley Tinguely had 40 assists, Emily Lewis contributed 11 digs.
For New London Koral Crossett had 8 kills and 2 blcoks, Bria Mears 13 assists and an ace serve,Caitlin Rice had 13 digs. NL ends the year 28-13, five of those losses were to HTC who now has a 45-2 record.

Sixth ranked Mediapolis suffered a shocking upset in Mt. Pleasants Panther Gym to unranked Davis County in 2A regional semi final play 25-22, 25-22, 27-25. Kalyn Ertz had 10 kills, Aubrey Siegel 16 assists, Kensley Heater had 25 digs.
The Mustangs go to the 2aregioanl finals at Durant Tuesday and play #10 West Liberty who swept Wapello 3-0 in semi final play last night.

An important battle of the Tigers will take place this afternoon as the Iowa Wesleyan College Tigers host the Olivet Nazarene University Tigers at 1 p.m. at Maple Leaf Stadium in a Mid-States Football Association Midwest League game.
IWC and ONU will be playing for fifth place in the MSFA Midwest standings, with Wesleyan coming into the game one game ahead of Olivet. An Iowa Wesleyan win will also keep the Tigers in position to challenge for a spot in the top four in the league at the end of the season.

The IGHSAU and IHSAA hold their state cross country championships in Ft. Dodge at Lakeside Municipal Golf Course today. S.E. Iowa will be well represented. Mt. Pleasant High School will have sophomore Hanna Weber running in the girls class 3A race, it’s the first time M.P. has had a girl runner at the race since 2007 when Melissa Erickson finished 10th. Cassie Stufflick of Danville/New London will run in the girl’s 2A race. Wapello will have their whole team in the 1A race.
On the boy’s side, Burlington will have their team in the 4A race, Ft. Madison will have their team competing in the 3A race, class 2A Dillon Zimmerman of Mediapolis will run as an individual and Wapello will have their team in the 1A class race.

There are always numerous story lines in previewing the Joint Boys and Girls State Cross Country Championships which runs for the 33rd time Saturday at Kennedy Park north of Fort Dodge. This year’s biggest story line in the “run for glory” could well be a record 43 medal winners returning from last fall’s extravaganza.
This year’s finale includes this fall’s top-rated teams and runners in each class and six schools that won titles a year ago. In addition 29 girls and 14 boys who took home individual medals last year return. Enrollment and co-op changes have caused some minor re-shuffling from a year ago. Those changes mainly affect individuals.
Three individual girls’ champions are back, but classification changes have them now in two classes. In Class 3A Waverly-Shell Rock junior Anna Holdiman will try to ward off the challenges of a field that includes six medal winners from 2010, plus last year’s Class 2A champion Lauren Benzing of Solon. Six other medal winners return in Class 2A where the 2010 Class 1A champion Emily Franks of Northeast, Goose Lake and Class 3A fourth place finisher Kelsey Kirchoff of Denver-Tripoli change classes. The small school field still has seven of last year’s top 10, plus Sibley-Ocheyedan Leah Seivert who was the Class 2A runner-up, and Arden Betzer of Springville-Central City, fourth in 2A last fall. On the boys’ side, while no defending champion returns, nine of 14 returning medal winners return in the top six of their respective class, and each of the four divisions is loaded with talent.
The meet annually attracts over 5,000 cross country enthusiasts and approximately 1,000 athletes making it what is believed to be the largest of its kind in America. This fall is the 82nd year the IHSAA has conducted a State Cross Country Meet, and it is the 46th time the IGHSAU has crowned state champions. Each is among the oldest state association sponsored meets in the nation. The first 13 co-ed meets were at Veenker Memorial Golf Course in Ames before moving to Kennedy Park in Fort Dodge twenty years ago.
Since the move to Fort Dodge, Eastern Iowa schools have dominated the team titles, winning 100 of 121. However, the West has won 49 of the last 80 individual gold medals. Those numbers may belie the fact that this meet always has its share of surprises and quality competition has long been its calling card.
For the first time, two wheelchair athletes will compete in their own division – Jordan Houbeshell of Linn-Mar, Marion; and Drake Sachsenmeier from Camanche.
A total of 986 athletes – 497 boys and 489 girls representing 185 teams comprise the field. Thirty schools qualified both their boys and girls teams. Following is a preview of each class. IATC ratings are those at the time of the State Qualifying Meets.

The 2011 State Volleyball Championships in Cedar Rapids will be played at the Ice Arena, here are directions for sports fans entering C.R. from the South.
North bound Traffic:
Take I-380 to Wilson Avenue, exit 18.
Turn onto Wilson Avenue heading west.
At Rockford Road, turn right, heading north/northeast.
The arena is one mile ahead on the left.
Parking lots are North/West of the Arena

Comments are closed.