Written by on November 30, 2011 in Sports

MPHS boys won an overtime thriller last night at home against Xavier of Cedar Rapids 68-65, game was tied 59 all at the end of regulation. Jordon Ashton led the scoring with 29 points and Nick Lyon added 11. Panthers now go to Fairfield Friday night and host Pella Saturday.
Xavier won the JV game 59-47.

Other area boy’s scores:
Central Lee, Donnellson 66, West Burlington 29
Holy Trinity Catholic, Fort Madison 48, Maharishi, Fairfield 5
Iowa Mennonite, Kalona 58, Winfield-Mt. Union 37
Keokuk 59, Burlington 37
Pekin 58, WACO, Wayland 39
Washington 63, Mid-Prairie, Wellman 48
Mt. Pleasant Middle School 7th grade boys basketball team played at James Madison in Burlington yesterday. MP won the “A” game 42-27, James Madison won the “B” game 22-14 and the ”C” game 34-10.

MPHS girls won on the road at 15th ranked Ottumwa 55-52 last night to get their first win of the season, the Bulldogs are now 0-3. The Panthers engineered a 12-1 run in the fourth quarter to stun the Bulldogs.
Taylor Shull, a Bradley recruit, broke the school record for career scoring at Mount Pleasant with 25 points last night. She set the mark on her first basket of the evening. She was 11-13 from the free-throw line and nailed a free throw with six seconds remaining to help seal the win. Taryne Shull and Kelsie Phipps each added 9 points for the winning Panthers who now host league foe Fairfield Friday night and travel to Pella Saturday.
Ottumwa won the JV game 35-34, MP won the freshman game 54-30.
Other area girl’s scores:
Central Lee, Donnellson 68, West Burlington 52
Columbus, Columbus Junction 50, Wapello 34
Highland, Riverside 37, Lone Tree 31
Mediapolis 70, Louisa-Muscatine 17
New London 45, Harmony 39
Pekin 62, Waco 45
Van Buren, Keosauqua 57, Burlington Notre Dame 50
Washington 43, Mid-Prairie, Wellman 28
Winfield-Mt Union 45, Iowa Mennonite School, Kalona 28

Area wrestling scores: West Liberty 42 New London/WMU 33, Lisbon 60 New London/WMU 21, Ft. Madison 52 Quincy 18, Keokuk 42 Davis County 34, Keokuk 42 Centerville 33.
The Mt. Pleasant 8th grade wrestling team hosted Burlington and Ottumwa yesterday and won 17 matches while losing just 4.

Jeremy Simmons (Sr.-Jackson, Tenn.) hit a go-ahead three-pointer with less than three minutes to play and the Iowa Wesleyan College men’s basketball team went on to defeat Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.) University 70-66 Tuesday night at Ruble Arena.
Kyle Warner led IWC with 20 points and eight rebounds after getting the start in place of injured teammate Davis Warner (Sr.-Murfreesboro, Tenn.). Jeremy Simmons and Jeff Harper (Sr.-Whiteville, Tenn.) both added 13 points each. Jon Umoren (Jr.-DeKalb, Ill.) dished out eight assists and Dan Missey added five steals.
Iowa Wesleyan opens Midwest Collegiate Conference play Saturday when it travels to face new MCC associate member AIB College of Business. Game time in Des Moines for the men’s matchup will be 3 p.m.

The MPHS wrestling team will have a busy week. The JV and varsity wrestle at Columbus Community tomorrow night, the JV team will wrestle Friday night in the Wapello JV Tournament, the varsity team will wrestle in the Wapello Tournament Saturday.

IHSAA Announces Wrestling, Basketball Hall-of-Fame Classes
Wrestling and basketball hall-of-fame classes for this winter have been announced by the Iowa High School Athletic Association and fans at those tournaments again will be treated to seeing an outstanding array of talent.
Selected for the Wrestling Hall of Fame are retired coaches BOB DYER of Glenwood (321-74-5) and GENE DOYLE of Cedar Falls (241-52). Also former state champions JEFF KELLY (100-15) and PAT KELLY (132-6) of Britt, both two time champions, and three-time mat kings CLIFF MOORE of Dubuque Hempstead (137-2; 1997, 98 and 99) and Cedar Falls’ Josh Budke (151-11,1995, 96 and 97).
This year is also the 50th Anniversary of Britt’s BOB STEENLAGE becoming the first four-time State Champion. Original plans had him leading the Grand March but a personal commitment does not allow for that. Instead Steenlage will be introduced to the State Tournament crowd Friday evening and his brother Les, who has impressive wrestling credentials, will step in for him at the Grand March. Both will be featured in the program.
The Basketball Hall of Fame will induct the following former state tournament coaches: the late AD HLUBEK (239-95) at Fort Atkinson, Melrose (1937 and 1938) and Charlotte; DON BURTON (323-146) at Northeast Hamilton (1968) and South Hamilton (1991); and KEITH STRIBE (339-187) at Carroll (1996, 1997, and 2005), Sanborn and Northwest Webster.
Former players being inducted include LARRY LUST, who was a two time all-state and an offensive and defensive star on Newton’s 1963 and 1964 state championship teams before playing at SCI (UNI); MARK MOHL, who scored 1,815 points and was all-state at Lost Nation (1980-83) before starting at Kirkwood Community College and Morningside College and is now the head coach at North Iowa Area Community College; and CHRIS KUHLMANN whose scoring and defense led Denison to the 1986 and 1987 State Tournaments before going on to star at Morningside College;
Also, New Hampton’s BRIAN HEYING, a two time all-state and all-tournament selection in 1993 and 1994, who scored over 1,500 career points and pulled down 628 rebounds before going on to a career at UNI; RYAN BOWEN, three times named to all-state teams during a career at Fort Madison (1991-94) where he scored 1,507 points, collected 749 rebounds and blocked 296 shots before winning all Big 10 honors at Iowa and playing 11 years in the NBA; and RAEF LAFRENTZ a multiple all-state selection and all-tournament choice who poured in 2,148 points and snared 1,079 rebounds in leading MFL, Monona to state tournament appearances in his career (1991-94) before being a four year starter and two-time All American at Kansas University and an NBA star for 12 seasons.

The Board of Control of the Iowa High School Athletic Association adopted changes for the State Wrestling Finals ticket distribution system.
The State Wrestling Championship has been a sold out event for over 20 years and is the only IHSAA reserved ticket event. All other state championship events are general admission only. The Board of Control believes that with other changes occurring to the state wrestling tournament format now is the time to automate the ticketing process for the finals. The new process will allow schools and the public to choose the best available seats.
Under the new ticketing system, schools will have the first opportunity to purchase tickets either online or at the Wells Fargo Arena Box office. The order limit will be 40 tickets. Following the sale of tickets to the schools, the general public will have an opportunity to purchase tickets online, at Wells Fargo Arena Box office, or at Dahl’s Stores in Ames and Des Moines. Order limit will be 6 tickets.
The Athletic Association sent complete information regarding the ticketing change for state wrestling finals to school administrators and to people who received wrestling finals tickets in 2011 the week of November 21, 2011.

Comments are closed.