Chamber honors Elizabeth and Rich Garrels as Citizens of the Year

Written by on January 27, 2012 in News

MOUNT PLEASANT—The Mount Pleasant Area Chamber of Commerce on Thursday honored Elizabeth and Rich Garrels of rural Mount Pleasant as 2011 Citizens of the Year.

The award, given at the 71st Annual Chamber of Commerce Banquet and Meeting of the Membership held at Mount Pleasant Golf & Country Club, recognized the Garrels for their selfless service to a variety of organizations and causes in Mount Pleasant and beyond.

Elizabeth Garrels associations and volunteer activities include:
• Henry County Health Center Auxiliary
• Friends of the Harlan-Lincoln House
• Iowa Wesleyan College Board of Trustees
• TTT Society
• Union Block revitalization committee
• United Methodist Women and other programs associated with First United Methodist Church
She is perhaps best known, though, as the immediate past President of International Chapter of PEO. In that role, she oversaw an organization with nearly a quarter of a million members in the United States and Canada.

Rich Garrels is a member of the Henry County Health Center Board of Directors, an active alumnus of Iowa Wesleyan College, and a frequent volunteer with local organizations such as Rotary International.

Also at the banquet, Kathy Nellor, Market President for Two Rivers Bank & Trust in Mount Pleasant, took the gavel as President of the Chamber of Commerce for 2012. She replaces Troy Spence of Edward Jones.

Dr. Cory Ellerbroek of Cox Chiropractic received the Chamber Alliance Volunteer of the Year Award. Ellerbroek serves with the Chamber Ambassadors, helps run the Rock Around the Block summer concert series, and is the leader of the young professionals program, Access Mount Pleasant, or AMP.

And in an unprecedented move, the Mount Pleasant Area Development Commission awarded three Entrepreneurial Excellence Awards for 2011. The selections were drawn from a large group of emerging business leaders in Henry County. The awards went to Tim Egli of Egli Landscapes in Wayland, Jason Goody, owner of Wilson Distributor Services and Safeguard Source One in Mount Pleasant, and Brad Moutrie of Moutrie Trucking in Mount Pleasant

Other Awards and Honors:
Ambassador Appreciation—Megan Nelson, TD&T Financial Services
Board Member Appreciation—Andy Zinkle, Staats Custom Awards
Business Plan Competition Winners—Stephanie Zinkle, Wholesome Goodness; the Garretson Family, Elderberry Farms; Lori Clancy and Jennifer Jalas, Premier Peeps; Mike and Kalen Henderson; M Danice Events
Business Expansion—Access Energy & Access Energy Propane, Cox Chiropractic, Golden Eagle Distributing Co., Hearth & Home Technologies, Shottenkirk Automotive
Chamber Trustees—Henry County Health Center, Hearth & Home Technologies, Shottenkirk Automotive, Veyance Technologies

Comments are closed.