KILJ Sports February 28th, 2012…

Written by on February 28, 2012 in Sports

The Mt Pleasant Panthers boys bought their ticket to the State Tournament for the third year in a row last night. Mt Pleasant took a 10 point lead over Centerville in the first quarter, and didn’t look back. Leading by 23 in the 2nd quarter, 27 in the 3rd quarter, and winning by 32, with a final score of 72-40.
The Panthers go into the State Tournament seeded third, and will face #6 ADM in the quarterfinal at 12:05pm on Wednesday, March 7th. 3 Panthers were in double figures for the night – Nick Lyon had 19 – including an alley-oop dunk to start off the 2nd half… Jordan Ashton with 18, and 14 for Blake Vandenburg. Dalton Conrad added 7, Connor Shull 4, and 3 points each for Cameron Frank, and Zach Mulford.

And Mt Pleasant Tournament t-shirt order forms are available now in the high school office. Forms must be returned by 2pm Wednesday… GET YOURS!!!

Tickets for the Danville Boys State Tournament first round game are on sale today in the Danville High School office from 1-8pm… Tickets will also be available Wednesday from 8-noon… and Thursday March 1st from 1-8pm. Ticket cost is $8.
Danville is also offering a Trailways Bus trip, and a student Pep bus. The Trailways bus trip is intended for adults – school age kids can ride with an adult chaperone. Sign up in the Danville High School office today from 1-8, Wednesday from 8-noon, and Thursday from 1-8. Cost is $22.00.
Sign up for the Student Pep Bus trip is underway now for 7th – 12th graders.
The cost of the bus ride has been donated, but students must buy their $8 game ticket. You must be signed up for the pep bus by Thursday.

The Southeast Conference All Confererence Teams and honors have been chosen for the 2011-2012 season.
The Washington Demons top the team standings ending 8-0 in the conference, and 18-5 overall.
Keokuk came in 2nd at 6-2 in the conference, and 17-7 overall.
Mt Pleasant finished 3rd in the standings, 4-4 in the conference, and 12-9 overall.
Fairfield finishes 4th, and Keokuk takes the 5th spot for the year.
First Team All Conference honors went this year to a group of all seniors.
Sydney Greiner (Washington)
Zoe Kayvan (Keokuk)
Lexie Lozano-Dobbs (Keokuk)
Taylor Shull (Mt Pleasant)
Lauren Vittetoe (Washington)
Serena Ward (Fairfield)
Player of The Year honors went to Mt Pleasant’s Taylor Shull
Second Team All Conference Players were:
Sydney Baumann (Jr, Fairfield)
Rachel Dunlap (Jr, Keokuk)
Regan Enfield (Sr, Washington)
Mollie Martin (Sr, Keokuk)
Kelsi Phipps (Fr, Mt Pleasant)
Taryn Shull (Soph, Mt Pleasant)
Honorable Mentions went to Taylor Neil and Tori Ogden of Fairfield. Kayla Baxter, Caitlynn Holtkamp, and Chalie Meyer of Ft Madison, and Trish Elder and Merydith Marshall of Keokuk. For Mt Pleasant – Natalie Booton, Katelyn Fry, Grace Lutovsky, and Leslie Taylor… and from Washington Beth Dillon, Stephanie Fishback, Lauren Kimball, Grace Redlinger, and Johannah Vittetoe.
All Academic Team Members:

Sidney Baumann, Cierra Bielinski, Kaitlyn Daugherty, Haley Grunwald, Brittany Kurtz, Jessica Lamb, Tori Ogden, Sage Richmond, Erin Thompson, and Serena Ward.
Ft Madison:Veronica Wellman, Caitlyn Holtkamp, Kirsten Eid, Adina Jaeger, Jackie Prado, Kelley Mabeus, and Sam Rogers.
Keokuk:Rachel Dunlap, Katie Edwardson, Zoe Kayvan, Jenna Kite, Merydith Marshall, Mollie Martin, Chelsea Washburn, & Brianna Jobe.
Mt Pleasant:Katelyn Fry, Grace Lutovsky, & Taylor Shull.
Washington:Regan Enfield, Sydney Greiner, Lauren Vittetoe, Emily Zehr, Beth Dillon, Samantha Ellingson, Natalie Enfield, Joni Erwin, Olivia Hartzler, Lauren Kimball, Johannah Vittetoe, Bryton Lumberg, Jacqueline Spenner, Katlyn Bennett, and Lauren Carter.

The 2012 Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union state basketball championships continue today at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines. Throughout the week KILJ AM&FM continues our coverage from the Iowa high School Sports Network. Day sessions can be heard on KILJ-AM 1130, and the evening games will be carried on KILJ-FM 105.5.

Comments are closed.