Written by on February 24, 2012 in Sports

One more to go before the big show, the Mt. Pleasant Panther boy’s basketball team defeated the Keokuk Chiefs in Fairfield Gymnasium 57-38 last night to win a 3A District title and move onto the substate championships Monday night in Ottumwa against Centerville who won over Chariton 56-53 in their district championship matchup. MPHS has defeated Centerville once this season 59-39.
Leading the Panthers to victory was Nick Lyon with 18 points, Jordon Ashton added 17 and Cameron Frank 13.
Keokuk was led by Dimitre Galbreath with 21, the Chiefs end the year 13-10. Three of those 10 loses were to MPHS.
Monday night at Ottumwa Evans Junior High Gym Mt. Pleasant will try and capture their third straight state tournament berth with a win over Centerville in the 7 p.m. game that you will hear live on KILJ-FM 105.5 and

The #1 ranked and undefeated Danville Bears totally dismantled the Keota Eagles last night 55-25 in the 1A dfistrict championship game in Burlington. Bears jumped to a 15-8 first quarter lead, stretched it to 30-10 by halftime and outscored the Eagles 25-15 in the second half. Steven Soukup scored 23 points, his twin brother Michael added 13. Keota ends the year 23-1, Danville advances to Saturday nights substate championship at Ottumwa Evans Junior High Gym against Corydon Wayne who defeated Pleasantville 52-43 last night. KILJ-FM 105.5 and will carry the game live beginning at 7 p.m. tomorrow night.

The MPHS girls bowling team finished 5th at the Class 1A State Bowling Tournament in Des Moines Thursday at Plaza Lanes, rolling a 2,593 total. Keokuk won the event with a 2,811 total. Steph ford led MPHS rolling a 365 total, which was good for 12th place individually.

Mediapolis Bulldogs are one win away from the “Big Show” in Des Moines after defeating Van Buren 71-63 in Fairfield Tuesday.
Mediapolis will take their 20-3 record and play in the substate championship game at Mt. Pleasant High School Saturday night against #6 Mt. Vernon who has a 19-4 record after beating Iowa City Regina 66-45 in the semi finals Tuesday night.

4ASubstate basketball Friday Davenport West plays at Iowa City West and Davenport Central plays at Bettendorf. The winners will play in the substate final Tuesday February 28th in Muscatine.

Iowa Wesleyan College women’s basketball team shot for 22.2% in a loss to St. Ambrose University 69-52 on Thursday night in the quarterfinals of the Midwest Collegiate Conference tournament at Ruble Arena.
Anna Jones led IWC with 25 points and 13 rebounds. Villalobos had nine points and six rebounds in her final game for the Tigers. Ashley Kruse (Jr.-Lakefield, Minn.) fouled out with eight points and four rebounds. Samantha Hodge (Jr.-Newcastle, Calif.) led the team with five assists.
The game was the final one in a special career for Anna Jones. The IWC guard finished with 1,518 points, fourth in school history and making her only the fourth player in IWC women’s basketball history to go over 1,500 points. She also finished with 804 rebounds, fifth-best in school history and the fifth player to go over 800. Jones also holds school records with 529 assists and 351 steals.
St. Ambrose will go on to play at No. 2 seed Mount Mercy University on Saturday at 2 p.m. in a semifinal matchup. The other semifinal game will feature fourth-seeded William Penn University at No. 1 seed Grand View University.

Former Ft. Madison High School basketball standout and Iowa Hawkeye Ryan Bowen is going into the IHSAA players hall of fame. During the 2012 Iowa High School boys basketball championships the Saturday night presentation of the Hall of Fame class has a span of over 60 years — the largest of any previous class. Hall of Fame inductees include Coach Adolph Hlubek, who led tiny Melrose to the single class championship and the first undefeated season in state history in 1937 and back the following year; Coach Don Burton who took Northeast Hamilton and South Hamilton teams to the State Tournament in two different decades; and Coach Keith Stribe who brought Carroll to the tournament three times. Former players being inducted were each named all-state in their time and had great post high school careers. They are Larry Lust, Newton (1964); Mark Mohl, Lost Nation (1983); Chris Kuhlmann, Denison (1987); Brian Heying, New Hampton (1994); Ryan Bowen, Fort Madison (1994) and Raef LaFrentz, MFL, MarMac (1994).

The IWC Tiger baseball team will be in action again this weekend, traveling to Columbia, Ky., for a four-game series against Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) College on Friday and Saturday. Play begins Friday with a doubleheade at noon Central time.

Comments are closed.