KILJ Sports March 30th, 2012…

Written by on March 30, 2012 in Sports

The MP Girls Tennis Team hosted Notre Dame West Burlington Thursday. Mt Pleasant won the matchup 7-2.
In the Singles, Mt Pleasant won 5 out of 6… with a win from Taylor Beatty… along with Panther Sophomores Tasha Glover, Emily Hatfield, and Abby Skubal all picking up their first career wins.
Shelby Barton trailed 2-5 before coming back for an 8-5 victory… Becca Lehman was defeated by WBND’s Darien Ringold 8-1

In the Doubles, Mt Pleasant won 2 out of 3, with wins from the teams of Beatty/Barton, and Hatfield/Skubal… Becca Lehman and Tasha Glover were defeated 8-6 by NDWB’s Darien Ringold/Kaylyn Parker.

The Mt Pleasant Boys and Girls Track teams held their co-ed relays Thursday. Emmet Wester won the shotput with a throw of 48’ 6”, with Justin Dunn taking second with a throw of 47’2”.
In the discus – Dunn won that event with a throw of 142’9”… with Wester taking second with a throw of 137’1”. Both events were personal bests for both Wester and Dunn.
The 4×8 team of Donny Johson, Zach May, Nate Smith and Tommy Thorn took 1st with a time of 8:47.60.
The Panther Boys will travel to Burlington for the Carl Johannsen Relays on Tuesday.

The Panther Girls had four 1st place finishes at the co-ed relays.
The shuttle-hurdle relay team of Leslie Taylor, Anna Becker, Kaitlin Jones, and Kelsey Phipps ran a smokin’ time of 1:05.99 – that’s the fastest time in the state so far, and a school record.
In the 100 hurdles, Leslie Taylor and Kelsey Phipps took 1st, and 2nd place respectively.
Taylor won with a time of 15.73, Phipps came in at 15.75 – nailing down the top two times in Class 3A at this point.
Freshman Hanna Becker won the high jump at 4’10”… and the 4×8 team of Natalie Myers, Natalie Ita, Taryn Shull, & Chloe Haffernan took 1st with a time of 10.18…
The Panther Girls go up against Iowa City West on Tuesday.

Following the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference’s (UMAC) Council of Presidents meetings on Monday, the league invited Iowa Wesleyan College to join the conference as an associate member for the sport of football, conditional upon the institution’s successful completion of the NCAA Division III exploratory year in 2012-2013 – and acceptance as a provisional member of the NCAA Division III, beginning with the 2013-2014 academic year.
Iowa Wesleyan accepted the presidents’ invitation, and will begin playing in the UMAC in 2013, assuming NCAA Division III provisional status is granted.
Iowa Wesleyan is currently a member of the NAIA’s Midwest Collegiate Conference and Mid-States Football Conference. The Tigers will begin competition as a provisional member of the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SLIAC), an NCAA Division III league, during the 2013-14 academic year, while joining four other SLIAC member schools as a UMAC associate member for football.
Iowa Wesleyan announced its application for membership to the NCAA Division III in October of 2011.
Following its exploratory year with the NCAA in 2012-2013, Iowa Wesleyan must complete a four-year provisional process before becoming a full NCAA member. As a UMAC associate member during the NCAA provisional phase, the Tigers will be eligible for conference regular season competition and awards, but will not be eligible to compete in the NCAA postseason. Iowa Wesleyan will assume Presentation College’s position as the 10th team on the UMAC schedule beginning in 2013.
The Upper Midwest Athletic Conference is comprised of eight full and five associate members located throughout the Midwest.

34 Raceway, Burlington, Iowa, will hold its second of three Test-N- Tune days this Saturday, March 31. Test-N-Tune days are open to all racers wishing to test out their cars for the upcoming racing season.
Pit gate will open at 11 am with track time scheduled to run from 12 noon to 3 pm. A $15 pit pass is required. Admission to the grandstand is free. Concessions will be available. Wapello Community Ambulance and New London Fire Crew will be on the grounds.
The final Test-N-Tune Day will be held in the evening on Tuesday, April 3. Pit gate opens at 5 pm with track time running from 6-9 pm.
Pit pass is required.

The Men’s NCAA final four plays Saturday, Kentucky plays Louisville at 5 p.m. and Kansas battles Ohio State at 8 p.m.
Baylor and Stanford tangle Sunday in the semi finals of the women’s NCAA basketball tournament to be played in. Uconn plays Notre Dame in the other semi.

Mt. Pleasant Girls Softball Registrations are being accepted through Saturday (March 31st) by mail or to a board member.
Registration forms & board member contact information can be found on the MPGS website –

The Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa is preparing for another season of exciting racing action. This Sunday you can get a preview of some of the cars and drivers that will be competing this racing season during a car show at the Keokuk
Hy-Vee food store. KILJ night at the Lee County Speedway will be held Friday night August 3rd, stay tuned for details on how to win free tickets!

Four individuals with diverse backgrounds will be inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in Cresco Monday, April 9. The 43rd Annual Awards Banquet and Induction Ceremonies will begin with a 5:30 p.m. social hour followed by a 6:30 p.m. banquet at the Cresco Country Club south of Cresco.
Those being inducted this year are Gene Doyle from Cedar Falls, Marv Reiland from Iowa City, Mark Sindlinger from Charles City and Bob Buzzard from Salem OR.

Comments are closed.