Election results, the day after

Written by on November 7, 2012 in News

Here are the election results for Henry County.

In the Presidential Race: voters chose Republican challenger Mitt Romney over incumbent Barack Obama by 5053 votes to 4448.  By this time, most know that Obama will won the general election and be our president again. 

For the US Representative Seat for District 2, Republican John Archer came out on top in Henry County but lost the race overall to Democrat incumbent Dave Loebsack.  Henry County had 4823 votes for Archer as compared to Loesback’s 4277. 

It was the election that we didn’t know the winner of when we went to bed last night and it is still not official.  For State Senator District 42, the race was between Republican Larry Kruse, Democrat Rich Taylor and Independent Mike Garmoe.  Kruse came out on top for Henry County with 4697 votes, Rich Taylor received 4051 and Garmoe, 771.  According to our tabulations, it appears that Taylor will win the election, this is pending final numbers from Lee County where some precincts have to hand count ballots following a larger than expected turnout forced workers to print out ballots.  If Taylor does win the election, it is thanks to a wide lead he had in Lee County as Kruse won in Henry, Lee and Washington counties.  Again, this race is still too close to have an official declaration of a winner. 

State Representative Dave Heaton ran unopposed and will return to his seat. 

 In the country races, three candidates were vying for two seats on the Board of Supervisors.  Republicans Greg Moeller,  Republican incumbent Gary See and Democrat Kurt Garretson were in the race.  It was a close race with Moeller receiving 5291 votes, See 4768 and Garretson 4330. 

And Henry County has a new Sheriff.  Independent Rich McNamee wins over Republican Allen Wittmer.  After winning the June primary over McNamee, Wittmer had resigned to take a new job in Texas.  Due to the timing of his withdrawal, Wittmer’s name still remained on the ballot and questions had come up regarding what to do if Wittmer still won.  No special elections will be held as McNamee won 4610 votes to 4116. 

To view the results from our county, go to henrycountyiowa.us.

Comments are closed.