Written by on December 18, 2012 in News

Cresco, IA: The Henry County Fair, held in Mt Pleasant, has received the 2012 “Blue Ribbon Fair” Award by the Board of Directors of the Association of Iowa Fairs. The award was presented to the Fair’s Board of Directors at the Association’s 2012 Conference and Annual Meeting, which was held December 7, 8 and 9 at the Airport Holiday Inn in Des Moines, IA. The Henry County Fair was chosen to receive the award from all the fairs in the Association’s Southeast District.

“One member fair in each of the Association’s six fair districts in Iowa is presented this award each year.” stated Thomas Barnes, Executive Director of the Association. “The fair that receives this award must have shown progress in providing service to the youth programs in their community, plus show distinguished service the community in both fair and non fair areas. My wife Sue & I have visited the Henry County Fair several times and we found it does indeed serve very well the community as outlined in the guidelines of this award.”

“The Board of Directors of the Association of Iowa Fairs would like to extend to its sincere appreciation to the Henry County Fair Board and their spouses for their commitment to their Fair, and to the fair industry in Iowa.” Barnes added. “We also extend our appreciation to the Henry County Extension Service, 4-H leaders and members, area FFA Chapters and to all the many other area volunteers that are involved with the Fair. They all combined make the Henry County Fair a Blue Ribbon Fair.”

The Association of Iowa Fairs is the organizational body of the fair industry in Iowa. It has as its members the 106 county fairs of Iowa and the Iowa State Fair, and 130 plus associate members such as carnivals, entertainment agencies, festivals, chambers, concessionaires, special attractions and suppliers of the industry. Together, the members of the Association work together to promote and strengthen the fair industry in Iowa.

The 2013 officers of the Association are President Joe Yedlik of Walker, First Vice President Jo Reynolds of Indianola and Second Vice President Rick Palmer of Manchester. The immediate Past President is Jim Mohr of Coon Rapids. Thomas and Susan Barnes of Cresco serve as the Association’s Executive Director and Executive Secretary/Treasurer respectively, and are associated with the Mighty Howard County Fair in Cresco. For further information on the Association of Iowa Fairs, visit www.iowafairs.com.

Comments are closed.