Written by on February 19, 2013 in Sports

Mt. Pleasant opened up boys class 3A district play at home last night with a 57-25 win over Clear Creek Amana in defense of their State title they won a year ago. The Clippers came in with a game plan of being very deliberate with their offense and the Panthers answered with a very stingy defense that allowed 15 points in the first half and 10 in the second. Faith Pope led M.P. in scoring with 14 points, Ryan Hanna added 9, Trey Magnani and Connor Shull added 8. Clear Creek Amana ends the year with a 4-18 record, the Panthers advance on to the District final Thursday night in Fairfield with a 17-5 record. Williamsburg will be their opponent after beating Ft. Madison 61-50 last night.
Other District scores last night saw Keokuk beat Fairfield 65-40 and Solon downed Washington 58-40, those winners meet at Washington Thursday night.

Tonight Class 1A boys District action resumes. Van Buren plays at #1 ranked Danville, KILJ-FM and will carry the game live at 7 p.m. Other area games has: Pekin at Keota, Twin Cedars at Sigourney, Moulton Udell plays at Pleasantville.
Class 2A games has Mediapolis at Burlington Notre Dame, Pella Christian vs PCM at Oskaloosa.

5th ranked Burlington Notre Dame has captured a spot in the 2013 class 1A Girls State Tournament Field. The Nikes won their Regional final at Wilton last night over Lisbon 81-39. Morgan Meyers scored 22 points, Riley Killbride added 15 to lead Notre Dame to their first state tournament appearance ever. Their first round game will be on Monday February 25th at 1:30 p.m. against 7th ranked Colo Nesco a team that is 23-2. Other qualifiers are: Villisca, Newell Fonda, Bellevue Marquette, Ar-We-Va, Earlham and Central Lyon.
Class 2A State Tournament qualifiers: Pella Christian, Western Christian, Aplington Parkersburg, Panorama, Iowa City Regina, Laton Bronson, Maquoketa Valley and IKM-Manning.

Girls Regional final tournament basketball tonight in Class 4A has Fairfield playing Benton Community at Marengo and Washington playing Cedar Rapids Xavier at C.R. Kennedy. The winners advance to next weeks State Tournament.

1st Team All Conference 1st Team All Conference
Andrea Larson So Mediapolis Morgan Myers Sr Notre Dame
Heidi Hillyard So Mediapolis Taylor Hickey So Note Dame
Alicia Escher Sr Winfield-MU Traci Keller Sr Central Lee
Megan Pretz Sr Columbus Taylor Burdette Sr Central Lee
Haley Hillyard Sr Mediapolis Jordan Greenfield Sr Central Lee
Cassie Kingery Sr Winfield-MU Hannah Haynes Sr Van Buren
Chelsey Lampe So Highland Kaitlyn Johnson So Van Buren
Torrie Blake Sr Wapello Lindsay Schaffer Sr Danville
Olivia Yutzy Jr IMS Lindsay Moore Sr Cardinal
Aaliyah Brown So WACO Morgan Christner Fr New London

Comments are closed.