SPORTS MAY 7, 2013

Written by on May 7, 2013 in News

The Southeast Conference Girls Tennis Tournament was held at Fairfield yesterday.  Keokuk won the title with 15, Ft. Madison 14, Mt. Pleasant 14 (Ft. Madison was awarded 2nd place because they had more individual champions), Fairfield 11.

MPHS had Taylor Beatty win a championship, Tasha Glover, Becca Lehman and Emily Hatfield finished 2nd.  Beatty and Glover finished 2nd in doubles.

Taylor Beatty is the first native Mt Pleasant player to win the SEC #1 singles championship in the 17 year history of the program. The only other MP #1 single champion was foreign exchange student Ana Paula de Andrade in 2002. de Andrade finished 4th in the state tournament that year.


The Southeast Conference Tennis Tournament for boys was played at Keokuk Monday.  The MPHS Panthers finished 3rd with 8 points ahead of Fairfield with 5.  The host school Keokuk won the title with 23, Ft. Madison was second 15. 

Singles results for the M.P.

2nd place- Chase Higginbotham, Zach Schmitz

3rd- Matt Zihlman, Tyler Pace, Blake Wickham, Austin Meyer

Doubles results.

3rd-  Higginbotham and Schmitz,      Zihlman and Pace,     Meyer and  Colton Schinstock


Monday May 6th Mt. Pleasant 7th grade girls placed 2nd overall in the Southeast Middle School Association Conference Track Meet held in Fort Madison.  Results are as follows:

Discus  6th Baily Batten 51′ 9″

Long Jump  Ashlee Menke  2nd  14′ 3″

High Jump  3rd Kalynn Batey 4’4″     4th  Chi Glaha   4′ 0″

4×800  4th ( Ashley DeKraai, Jackie Goodman, Megan Sutherland, Sami Rosell) 12:39.34

Shuttle Hurdle Relay  1st (Pearl Kreiger–Coble, Mikayla Beason, Ashlee Menke, Kalynn Batey) 1:17.620

100 Meter Dash  6th Chi Glaha  14.270

Distance Medley Relay 1st (Jackie Fraise, Katie Ensminger, Hannah Schinstock, Delaney McDowell) 5:03.147

400 Meter Dash  4th  Brianna Bowman 1:11.774

4×200 Relay  2nd ( Dani Broeker, Ashley DeKraai, Jackie Fraise, Katie Ensminger) 2:04.581

1500 Meter run 1st  Taylor Murray  5:30.77

100 Meter Hurdles  3rd  Kalynn Batey  18.236   Ashlee Menke  4th  19.112

200 Meter Dash  Dani Broeker  6th  30.982

Sprint Medley Relay  2nd (Mikayla Beason, Chi Glaha, Jackie Fraise, Delaney McDowell) 2:09.322

200 Meter Hurdles  2nd  Pearl Kreiger-Coble 33.014   4th Kalynn batey 33.689

800 Meter Run  1st  Taylor Murray 2:42.878

4×100 Relay  2nd  (Dani Broeker, Mikayla Beason, Chi Glaha, Katie Ensminger) 59.059

4×400 Meter Relay 3rd  (Brianna Bowman, Pearl Kreiger-Coble, Hannah Schinstock, Delaney McDowell) 4:56.818


Wapello won the Southeast Iowa Super Conference girls golf tournament for the North Division at the Shaeffer Course in Ft. Madison.  The Arrows shot a 398, Mediapolis was 2nd 432, Lone Tree 446, Columbus 464, WMU 5th with a 467 score, L&M shot 479, IMS 544.  Medalist was Mackenzie Noble of Wapello with an 89.

The Southern Division title was won by New London with a 390, Van Buren 431, Central Lee 442, Holy Trinity Catholic 490, Notre Dame-West Burlington 503 and Danville 534.

Medalist was Alex Krehbiel of Central Lee shooting 82.


Pekin won the Northern Division Southeast Iowa Super Conference girls track title at Columbus Community last night with  161 points.  Mediapolis was 2nd with 132, WMU was 4th and Waco was 9th.

Mediapolis won the boys title with 156 points, Pekin was 2nd with 131.  Waco tied Lone Tree for 4th with 65 points.

Central Lee girls won the Southern Division track title at West Burlington with 152 points, West Burlington-Notre Dame 2nd with 113, New London finished 4th with 67.

The Southern Division boys title went to West Burlington-Notre Dame with 201, Cardinal was 2nd with 112.  New London was 6th with 28.


Marion defeated the MPHS girls soccer team 3-0 last night, Panthers play Washington Thursday.

Mt. Pleasant won 2-1 over Marion in non-conference boys soccer at East lake Park last night.  Bo Vitale scored a goal as did Derek Holtkamp.  MPHS is 8-2 on the season


Iowa Wesleyan baseball player Jacob Neilson (Sr.-Bakersfield, CA) has been named to the 2013 USCAA Honorable Mention All-American Team.  Neilson hit .365 on the season, playing in all 35 games.  He recorded 29 RBI’s and scored 22 times himself.  Neilson led the Tigers with 11 doubles on the year.  Neilson was also named to the 2013 USCAA Baseball National All-Academic Team.  Joseph Neilson (Sr.-Bakersfield, CA) and Keith Bullock (Sr.-) were also named to the USCAA Baseball National All-Academic Team.

The Tigers finished the season one game under .500, finishing at 17-18.


Mt. Pleasant will be hosting the girls’ soccer regional semifinal game on May 28th, at 5:00 p.m. vs. the winner of the May 23rd regional game between Keokuk and Burlington.




 The high school softball season begins today, and it will begin at Waterloo West without Larry Niemeyer.
The nation’s winningest coach, Niemeyer is hospitalized with kidney disease. As a result, he has stepped down from his new position without coaching a game.
Niemeyer piled up a career record of 2,089-429 in 52 seasons at Adel and Cedar Rapids Jefferson. He was relieved of his duties at Jefferson after the 2012 season.
He won four state championships – the 1970 fall title at Adel, then three summer titles at Jefferson (1983, 1997 and 1998). He coached Jefferson to the state tournament 18 times.


The Iowa Wesleyan College softball team has qualified for the USCAA National Tournament, finishing the regular season at 18-13.  The Tigers will head to Akron, Ohio for the national tournament, to be held from May 12-15.

The USCAA National Softball Championship will be held at Firestone Stadium.  Seeding for the tournament will be released on May 7th.

Comments are closed.