SPORTS MAY 8, 2013

Written by on May 8, 2013 in Sports

Mt. Pleasant won the girls Southeast Conference golf tournament Tuesday.  MPHS shot a 396, Washington shot 424, Fairfield 460 and Keokuk 555.  Medalist was Megan Buttendorp of Washington 91.  For MPHS Courtney Mabeus shot 96, Brianne Holtkamp 98, Emily Cox and Elle Schliesman shot 101, Haley Booton had a 105 and Whitney Barton 144.  Mabeus, Holtkamp, Cox and Schliesman were named all conference.


Mt. Pleasant boys golf team finished 3rd in the Southeast conference golf tournament they hosted Tuesday shooting a 326 score.  Fairfield won the event with a 317, Washington shot 322 to capture 2nd, Keokuk was 4th 333, Ft. Madison shot 348. 

Kiley Miller was medalist for the tournament shooting 75 and scored an eagle on the final hole.  Quinn Daniel had a 78, both those golfers were named all Southeast Conference.  Jordon Phomsouvandara 85, Kyle Kauffman shot 88, Collin Baccam shot 91 and Jacob Smith 95.


The field for the 2013 USCAA Softball National Championship is set. Gaining bids to the Small College World Series are Briarcliffe College, Carlow University, WVU Tech, Iowa Wesleyan College, St. Mary of the Woods College, Lindenwood University-Belleville, Ave Maria University, Penn State Mont Alto, University of Virginia-Lynchburg, and tournament host institution Penn State Beaver.

The number one overall seed in the tournament is Briarcliffe College.

Iowa Wesleyan College is seeded 4th and will be making their first appearance in the Softball Small College World Series. Iowa Wesleyan is one of the rare teams in this tournament that has a win against Briarcliffe on the year.

Wesleyan will play St. Mary of the Woods the #5 seeded team Monday at 4 p.m. in Akron, Ohio.  From 2000-2010 St. Mary of the Woods won seven USCAA Softball National Championships, but has been shut out since 2008.


Brent Buttjer the Activities Director at Ft. Madison has been named the new A.D. at Ankeny High School, he will begin the new position in July.


The Regional-District State qualifying track meet for area class 3A girls and boys track teams will be hosted by Mt. Pleasant Thursday beginning at 4 p.m.  Teams joining the Mt. Pleasant Panthers on the track will be:  Davenport Assumption, Centerville, Clear Creek Amana, Fairfield, Ft. Madison, Keokuk and Washington.

Class 3A and 2A,  the  top  two place winners  in  each  event,  plus  the  next  eight  (8)  performances  statewide  from  qualifying  meet  place winners will advance  to  the  state meet.     In Class  1A,  the  top  place winner in each event,  plus  the  next 

twelve  (12)  best performances  statewide from qualifying meet place winners will advance  to  the  state 


Comments are closed.