Chamber honors JD and Kathy Schimmelpfennig as Citizens of the Year

Written by on January 24, 2014 in News

MOUNT PLEASANT—The Mount Pleasant Area Chamber of Commerce on Thursday honored industrialist JD Schimmelpfennig and his wife, Kathy, as 2013 Mount Pleasant Citizens of the Year.

The award, given at the 73rd Annual Chamber of Commerce Banquet and Meeting of the Membership held at Mount Pleasant Golf & Country Club recognized the Schimmelpfennigs for their service to the Mount Pleasant Community School District, Iowa Wesleyan College, First Presbyterian Church, and the broader Mount Pleasant community.

JD Schimmelpfennig is president of Lomont Molding in Mount Pleasant, where Kathy Schimmelpfennig also works. Their past volunteer activities and support efforts include:
• Mount Pleasant Community School District (MPCSD) board member
• MPCSD Industrial Technology Program
• MPCSD extra-curricular programs and athletics
• Iowa Wesleyan College campaign chairs
• IWC Board of Trustees
• IWC academic and athletic programs
• Mount Pleasant Chamber of Commerce president
• Mount Pleasant Area Develpoment Commission board member
• First Presbyterian Church Youth Group Leader, committee members, and Sunday School leaders

The Schimmelpfennigs accepted the Citizen of the Year Award from Mr. Jason Bender of Lomont Molding, a Chamber of Commerce board member. Several members of the couple’s family and Lomont Molding employees were present for the presentation.

The 2013 Chamber of Commerce Volunteer of the Year Award went to outgoing Chamber of Commerce and Main Street Mount Pleasant board member Deb Sinclair. Sinclair served as Treasurer for the Chamber of Commerce and was a constant presence at Chamber and Main Street events. She was recognized by Chamber Alliance staff for her tireless work ethic and positive leadership.

Other Awards and Honors:
Ambassador Appreciation—Jill Yoder, PIP Printing; Amanda Collett Rundquist, PuraVida Creative Design Studio; Lori White, formerly of Staats Custom Awards; Cory Ellerbroek, formerly of Cox Chiropractic; Jayme Storm, formerly of HCI Care Services of Southeast Iowa
Chamber Board Member Appreciation—Amy Becker, Amy Becker Photography; Deb Sinclair, Farm Credit Services; Terry Smith, Agri-Center; Lori White, formerly of Staats Custom Awards
Area Development Commission Board Member Appreciation—Teri Bockting; Stan Curtis, City of Mount Pleasant
Business Expansion—Complete EyeCare Center; Hedge Above; The RECCenter
Chamber Trustees—Henry County Health Center, Hearth & Home Technologies, Shottenkirk Automotive, SunnyBrook Assisted Living, Veyance Technologies and Walmart Supercenter
Entrepreneur Appreciation—Joni Manske

Comments are closed.