Written by on March 13, 2014 in Sports

The Mt. Pleasant high School girls basketball team handed out team awards recently, those named to special awards were:

Kelsi Phipps – MVP

Taryne Shull – Offensive player of the year

Natialie Ita – Playmaker of the year

Natalie Myers – Defensive player of the year




It’s time for the annual Southeast Iowa All Star Basketball game,  games are schedules for Saturday March 22nd  at Burlington Notre Dame High School. The girl’s game will start at 5:00 and the boys game will follow.




          North                                                                                       South

Olivis Yutzy                 IMS                                         Samantha Koontz                   New London

Shelby Therme           WMU                                       Allie Boyer                               Danville

Madelyn Flmr              Lone Tree                                Mickenzie Larpenter               WB

Rachel Holstien           Mediapolis                               Emily Salvador                       ND

Emily Mathews           WMU                                       Gabbie Grothe                        Danville

Logan Hartsock          WMU                                       Jessica Reu                            Central Lee

Samantha Wright        Pekin                                       Kaylee Dochterman                WB

Kristin Davis                IMS                                         Haley Browning                      Harmony

Kennedi Warson         Lone Tree                                Abbey Rider                            Van Buren

Martha Anaya             Columbus                                Addie Lounsbury                     New London

Jessica Horras            Pekin                                       Sarah Holtkamp                      New London

Kelsey Bemis              L-M                                          Cayla Pieper                           Holy Trinity

Taryne Shull (not going to play)Mt. Pleasant             Ariana Harris                           BHS

Aubrey Melvin             Wapello                                   La Stella Slack                        Fort Madison

Taylor Hills                  Columbus                                Rachel Steffensmeier                Fort Madsion


Coach:  Todd Rodgers                                                               Coach: Kollin Alfred


All-Star Team


          North                                                                                       South

Josh Brase                Highland                                  Tom Fitzsimmons            Van Buren

Trenton Gosnell         Lone Tree                                  Springer DeRosear         WB

Dallas Nye                  IMS                                             Luis Galle                        Central Lee

Logan Osborn            L-M                                            Shae  Seils                      Danville

Jared Bond               Pekin                                           Reed Shockley                Central Lee

Max Fricke                 WMU                                           Tanner Smith                  Van Buren

Brody Long               Pekin                                           Cody Moehn                    ND

Cade Millikins           Pekins                                         Surya Sawhney              Maharishi

Tucker Massner       Wapello                                      Sam Harmeyer                Holy trinity

Reggie Hostetler     IMS                                                Dylan Menke                  Holy trinity

Dylan Carlson          Waco                                            Matt Burford                    ND

Chris  Ford                Highland                                     Josh Bloomer                 BHS

Jake Edwards           WMU                                            Brice Plein                      BHS

Trey Magnani           Mt. pleasant                                 Brandt Amos                  Keokuk

Ricky Rivers              Columbus                                   Andrew Giertz                 ND


Coach: Ken Hutchinson   Pekin                             Coach: Loren Menke  Holy Trinity


Iowa Wesleyan College women’s softball team is headed to the USCAA 2014 Preseason Invitational softball tournament at the Elizabethtown Sports Complex in Elizabethtown, Kentucky Friday and Saturday.  Tigers will play Friday morning at 11 a.m. against St. Mary’s of the Woods, in the afternoon at 3 p.m. against LU-Belleville.  Saturday they play Roosevelt University at 11 a.m. and West Virginia Tech at 1 p.m.


The Iowa Wesleyan College Tigers baseball team picked up two games Saturday to replace some recent cancellations.  The Tigers will face Hamline University (MN) in a double header on Saturday, playing down in Columbia, MO.  The first pitch is scheduled for 6:30pm.



The baseball game between the Iowa Wesleyan College Tigers and the Monmouth College Fighting Scots scheduled for this coming Sunday (March 16) at Monmouth has been cancelled due to field conditions.



The 33rd annual Skunk River Valley Ducks Unlimited Dinner will be held Friday, March14 at the Mt. Pleasant Golf and Country Club.  A live auction will follow the meal and raffles. 

Tickets: $55 Single, $75 Couple
Time: Doors Open at 6:00


34 Raceway, is gearing up for its 2014 season with the annual Midwest Performance & Power Westland Mall 2 day car show and the Roederer’s Kick Off Party Saturday, March 15 and Sunday March 16.

Racers in all divisions taking to the track this season will have their cars on display at Westland Mall during regular mall hours on Saturday and Sunday.

Saturday night, March 15 will be the Roederer’s 2014 Season Kick Off Party starting at 6 p.m. There will be prizes, food & drinks and fun.


 Hall of Fame induction ceremonies by the Iowa High School Athletic Association to honor athletes and coaches will be presented during the Boy’s State Basketball Tournament this week.

Those being honored March 15 include Coaches: Bob Haak of Spencer and Steve Blazek of Atlantic, plus Players: Lloyd Thornburg, Pleasantville (1968); Mark West, Southeast Polk (1977); Jeff Donaldson, Sioux City, North (1983); Robbie Sieverding, Marquette Catholic, Bellevue (1997); and Jeff Horner, Mason City (2002).

Comments are closed.