Written by on March 10, 2014 in Sports

The Girl’s State Basketball Tournament wrapped up on Saturday and the boy’s tournament begins today, KILJ-AM & FM along with again will be brining you all the excitement live as 4 class champions are crowned.  Southeast Iowa was well represented at the girl’s tournament.  Burlington Notre Dame brought home the Class 1A title and had two players Riley Killbride and Taylor Hickey named to the all tournament team.  Mediapolis made it to the semi finals in class 3A, losing to eventual state champion MOC Floyd Valley.  Ashley Larson was named all-tournament.

The boy’s tournament will open today with a Class 1A matchup between Keota who got to state by beating Van Buren in the substate.  The Eagles take on Easton Valley the team that won over Danville in the substate finals.  Remember day games are on KILJ-AM 1130 on your dial and the night games on KILJ-FM 105.5 as well as streaming.


The Mt. Pleasant High School girls track team will run in the Art Dickinson indoor meet at UNI in Cedar Falls today.  The MPHS boys track team will run Tuesday at UNI in the Art Dickinson meet.


The Iowa Hawkeye wrestling team finished 2nd to Penn State in the Big Ten Conference meet hosted by Wisconsin over the weekend.  Hawks had 135 team points and 1 champion, Tony Ramos.  Penn State scored 140 points to win their 4th straight title.


Nebraska defeated the Iowa women in the Big Ten Conference women’s basketball championship game by a score of 72-65.

The Hawkeye men will play Northwestern in the 1st round of the Big Ten Tournament Thursday night at 8 p.m., the winner plays Michigan State in the next round Friday.

Iowa State plays in the Big 12 tournament Thursday morning at 11 a.m. against Kansas State.  The Iowa State women lost Saturday to Oklahoma State in the Big 12 Tournament.


     Hall of Fame members for Boys’ Basketball have been chosen by the Iowa High School Athletic Association, recently.  The honored athletes and coaches will be presented during the State Tournament .

     Those being honored in basketball, March 15 include Coaches: Bob Haak of Spencer and Steve Blazek of Atlantic, plus Players: Lloyd Thornburg, Pleasantville (1968); Mark West, Southeast Polk (1977); Jeff Donaldson, Sioux City, North (1983); Robbie Sieverding, Marquette Catholic, Bellevue (1997); and Jeff Horner, Mason City (2002).

Comments are closed.