Written by on March 4, 2014 in Sports

The Mt. Pleasant High School girls track team will open up their indoor season tonight running in the Washington Invitational at the University of Iowa indoor facility.  The MPHS boy’s team will run indoors Thursday.


Ft. Madison High School boy’s basketball team last appeared in the State Tournament in 1976, they will not return in 2014 as Grinnell High School defeated the Bloodhounds 62-58 in the 3A Substate Championship played at Iowa City West Monday night.  Ft. Madison jumped to a 16-5 1st quarter lead and led at halftime 27-22.  In the second half Grinnell grabbed the lead late and denied the Bloodhounds of their first trip to state in 38 years.  Joining the Tigers in the 3A field are:  Harlan, Central DeWitt, Chariton, Dubuque Wahlert, Humboldt, MOC Floyd Valley and defending state champ Waverly Shell-Rock.


Burlington Notre Dame girls basketball team had a record setting day Monday winning their first round game at the State Tournament 90-50 over Adair-Casey.  The 90 total points is a Class 1A State Tournament record, the 37 points scored by the Nikes in the 3rd quarter also sets a Class 1A scoring record for one quarter of play.

Notre Dame advances to the semi finals on Thursday morning at 10 a.m.  against Janesville a team that won 58-46 over Rockford.  KILJ-FM 105.5 and will carry the game live.

The other 1A semi will be played at 8:30 p.m. Wednesday night between Colo-Nesco and Newelll Fonda.

Mediapolis will play their first round game at 5 p.m. today against Williamsburg, KILJ-FM 105.5 and will carry that game live. 

2A 1st round action began Monday also with Cascade, Hudson and North Linn coming away winners.


The Iowa Wesleyan College softball team lost their season opener to Kings College (PA) 2-1 Monday.

IWC…..6 Hits 1 Run 2 Errors

Kings….3 Hits 2 Runs 0 Errors

Losing Pitcher Jill Leutscher (0-1)

Ashley Stube 2 for 3

Andrea Bury and Haleigh Cowan doubles

IWC plays Cabrini College (PA) and Eastern University (PA) today at 9:30 and 1:30, respectively.


The Iowa Wesleyan College baseball team lost their season opener 5-1 to Mount Union (OH) Monday at the Rusmatt Florida Invitational in West Haven, FL.

The Tigers have a doubleheader against Houghton College (NY) today.



NORTH DIVISION                                        SOUTH DIVISION

1st  Team All Conference                                        1st Team All Conference

                                                                  Xavior Williams     Notre Dame

*Josh Brase             Sr       Highland        *Tom Fitzsimmons    Sr       Van Buren

*Trenton Gosnel      Sr        Lone Tree      *Jeff Giannettino                Jr       Notre Dame

*Dallas Nye             Sr       IMS              *Blake Hellweg                   Jr       Holy Trinity

Logan Osborn           Sr       L-M              *Connor Hoelzen                Jr       Danville

Eli Gingerich             So      IMS              *Garrett Saunders    Jr       Van Buren

Jovonte Squiers        Fr       Lone Tree      *Mason Speer          Jr       Danville

Jared Bond              Sr       Pekin            Springer DeRosear    Sr       West Burlington

Max Fricke              Sr       Winfield-MU    Luis Galle                Sr       Central Lee

Brody Long              Sr       Pekin            Hunter Peebler                   Jr       Danville

Cade Millikin             Sr       Pekin            Reed Shockley                   Sr       Central Lee

                                                                                    Tanner Smith           Sr       Van Buren


Player of the Year – Mason Speer – Danville      Trenton Gosnell – Lone Tree                          

Coach of the Year – Ken Lafoon – Danville        Ken Hutchinson – Pekin


The MP 8th Grade boys tournament team won their home tournament this past weekend.  They beat Washington, Ft Madison, and Cedar Rapids Legacy Elite in the championship.   They improved their record to 39-6 on the season.   

Comments are closed.