Written by on April 15, 2014 in Sports

Today’s sports local sports schedule:  MPHS girls golf at Keokuk, M.P. boys golf host Keokuk, MPHS girls track at Ft. Madison, M.P. Middle School boys track at Burlington.

The Waco Track meet for boys that was postponed from yesterday has been rescheduled for today.


The Iowa Wesleyan College men’s golf team finished 4th out of 9 teams today at the McNaughton Invitational hosted by Illinois College.  The Tigers shot 326 as a team. Hannibal-LaGrange won the team title with a 298.

IWC’s Trent Hoekstra tied for 4th overall, shooting a 75 (+3).  Hoekstra was just 3 strokes behind the winner.

Blake Mitchell shot a 79 (+7) to tie for 11th.

Michael Neff tied for 22nd with an 85 (+13).


A former New London High School Golfer has been inducted into the Iowa High School Golf Coaches Association hall of fame.  Mike Phillips, state medalist champion for the New London Tiger golf team in 1994 and 1996 is one of just 13 golfers to capture a pair of state championships.  Mike, his wife and two children live in New London where he works for the City. 


The first golf tournament of the year at the Mt. Pleasant Golf and Country Club is the Darrel Brown Memorial Tournament on April 27th at 10 a.m.  It’s a 3 man best shot, entry fee is $60 per team.


The city of Mt. Pleasant REC department is now taking Mail-in Registration’s for Summer Swim Lessons which start June, 3rd!

May 1st is Walk-in registrations for Summer Swimming Lessons!

Please check out our website for our available session times at


Mt. Pleasant Tournament Teams are sponsoring a 3 on 3 Basketball Tournament at the High School on April 20th.

Ages 3rd grade-Adult  male and female.

If interested contact Ronnie Ashton at 931-2896 for more information.


435 high school seniors from across Iowa will be honored Sunday, April 27, 2014, at the 12th Annual Governor’s Scholar Recognition Ceremony, held at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines starting at 1:00 p.m. The Governor’s Office, the Iowa High School Athletic Association, and its title sponsor, the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, are presenting this recognition program.  The Honorable Governor Terry Branstad and Honorable Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds will host the event and address the audience of 2,500-plus.  Iowa Farm Bureau President Craig Hill, Tom Keating, Principal, Xavier High School, Cedar Rapids, and chairperson of the Board of Control of the Iowa High School Athletic Association, and Jane Schmidt, 2014 Iowa Teacher of the Year from Maquoketa, will also welcome the students and their guests.  The seniors being honored were selected by their high schools as their highest academic achievers. Each student will receive a photo plaque of themselves with Governor Branstad and Lt. Governor Reynolds and a certificate to commemorate their achievement.  Each student’s most influential teacher will also receive a certificate of appreciation.  A reception for the students, their parents, their most influential teachers, and other guests will follow the ceremony , In addition to being recognized as the state’s brightest students, over 99 percent of the group participates in school activities, with approximately 80 percent participating in at least one interscholastic sport.  More than 60 percent plan to pursue their post-secondary education in Iowa.  KILJ area students honored are:   Rebecca Lehman Mount Pleasant – – Jacob Isbell WACO, Wayland – – Brooke Jennings-Winfield-Mt. Union.

Comments are closed.