EMERALD ASH BORER FOUND IN HENRY COUNTY

Written by on July 11, 2014 in News

Iowa now has ten infested Counties after larva found in Mt. Pleasant

DES MOINES – A larva was collected by the Iowa EAB Team from a tree in Mt. Pleasant has been positively identified as the Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) by a federal identifier.

A statewide quarantine restricting the movement of hardwood firewood, ash logs, wood chips and ash tree nursery stock out of Iowa into non-quarantined areas of other states was issued on Feb. 4, 2014 and remains in place.

“EAB typically has a one-year lifecycle but in colder climates, it can take as long as two-years,” said State Entomologist Robin Pruisner of the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship. “Finding an EAB larva in July proof that there is no ‘safe time’ for moving firewood in Iowa. No matter the time of year, the risk of EAB being transported in firewood is very real.”

The Iowa EAB Team provides EAB diagnostic assistance to landowners and includes officials from Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship (IDALS), Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR), USDA Animal Plant Health Inspection Service and the USDA Forest Service.

The Iowa EAB Team strongly cautions Iowans not to transport firewood across county or state lines, since the movement of firewood throughout Iowa or to other states increases the risk of spreading EAB infestations. Most EAB infestations in the United States have been started by people unknowingly transporting infested firewood, nursery plants or sawmill logs. Besides being transported by vehicle, the adult beetle can also fly short distances of approximately two to five miles.

Please contact Iowa EAB Team members to have suspicious looking trees checked. The State of Iowa will continue to track the movement of EAB on a county-by-county basis. Before a county can be officially recognized as infested, proof of a reproducing population is needed and an EAB must be collected and verified by USDA entomologists.

To learn more about EAB and other pests that are threatening Iowa’s tree population, please visit www.IowaTreePests.com. Please contact any of the following members of the Iowa EAB Team for further information:
§ Robin Pruisner, IDALS State Entomologist, 515-725-1470, Robin.Pruisner@IowaAgriculture.gov
§ Paul Tauke, DNR State Forester, 515-242-6898, Paul.Tauke@dnr.iowa.gov
§ Tivon Feeley, DNR Forest Health Coordinator, 515-281-4915, Tivon.feeley@dnr.iowa.gov
§ Emma Hanigan, DNR Urban Forest Coordinator, 515-281-5600, emma.hanigan@dnr.iowa.gov
§ Mike Kintner, IDALS, 515-725-1470, Mike.Kintner@IowaAgriculture.gov
§ Jesse Randall, ISU Extension Forester, 515-294-1168, Randallj@iastate.edu
§ Mark Shour, ISU Extension Entomologist, 515-294-5963, mshour@iastate.edu
§ Laura Jesse, ISU Extension Entomologist, ISU Plant and Insect Diagnostic Clinic, 515-294-0581, ljesse@iastate.edu
§ Donald Lewis, ISU Extension Entomologist, 515-294-1101, drlewis@iastate.edu.
§ Jeff Iles, ISU Extension Horticulturist, 515-294-3718, iles@iastate.edu

Comments are closed.