SPORTS JULY 18, 2014

Written by on July 18, 2014 in Sports

The New London Tiger baseball team had their tournament trail come to an end last night against #3 ranked Van Buren by a score of 11-1 on the Warriors home field. Van Buren jumped out to a 7-0 lead in the bottom of the 1st inning and never looked back. The Warrior pitching held the Tigers to 3 hits, one each for Cameron Watson, Justin Henecke and Tyler Stevenson. Winning pitcher Robert Barker led Van Buren in hitting getting 2 hits, walking twice and scoring 3 times. Jaden Flowers suffered the loss on the mound for New London who ends the year 10 and 16. Van Buren now travels to Danville Saturday night at 7 p.m. to play in the district finals against Burlington Notre Dame who beat Danville on the Bears home field 2-0.

OTHER CLASS 1A TOURNAMENT BASEBALL SCORES: Highland beat Lisbon 4-3, Lone Tree won over Midland Wyoming 5-4 and Pekin scored a 2-1 win over IMS.


3A district baseball begins tonight, Mt. Pleasant will open play at Fairfield against Oskaloosa at 5 p.m. KILJ-FM 105.5 and will carry the game live.   Fairfield will tangle with Ft. Madison in the 7 p.m. game. The winners will advance to play in the semi finals on Monday July 21st at Fairfield. In the other half of the substate at Centerville, Keokuk plays Knoxville at 5 p.m. and Chariton plays Centerville at 7 p.m. tonight.


The Southeast Iowa Super Conference has named their all conference teams for the summer of 2014. There was no 1st team all conference from Henry County. 2nd team honors went to Samantha Johnson and Karlie Wade of Winfield Mt. Union. Taylor Rodgers and Caitlin Jamison were named honorable mention. Coach of the year for the Northern Division was Carrie Wieland of Highland.

The Southern Division Henry County 1st teamers were: Morgan Christner, Emily Parks, Jorgi Krieger, Victoria Noel, Emma Pry and Sami Koontz all from New London. 2nd team honors to Ashley Davey and Sarah Holtkamp. Honorable mention honors went to Josten Boyer and Kenadi Schulte of New London. New London co-head coaches Paula Blivens and Duane Blint were named coach of the year.


The Mt. Pleasant 10-U Cal Ripken All Star baseball team is traveling to Chadron, Nebraska next week to play in a regional tournament that could qualify them for the national Cal Ripken tournament. The team is raising funds to defray some of their expenses of traveling. Any business or individual that would like to make a donation may contact team manager Willy Amos or coached Ryan Seeberg, Brent Venghouse or Scott Rowan. A $500 donation earns the donor a sign to be displayed on the Cal Ripken diamond in Mt. Pleasant.


Winfield Crooked Creek fun run/walk will be held Saturday August 2nd. The event features both a 5K run and one mile run/walk. The event begins at 7:30 a.m. at the Winfield School.


The Des Moines Area Sports Commission has landed two more cycles of the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) Junior Olympic Games, both 2018 and 2023. The Games is a $1.5 million event run by the Des Moines Area Sports Commission staff, generating $47 million in economic impact for the Greater Des Moines economy. This announcement comes amid preparation for the 48th annual event in Des Moines—July 22 – August 2, 2014.


The Winfield Mt. Union vs Waco Alumni Football game is coming up July 26th. Tickets are on sale now from any WMU or WACO alumni player. Game will be played at Roth Field in Wayland. It starts at 7pm.

Comments are closed.