Written by on August 20, 2014 in Sports



The Iowa Wesleyan Tiger football roster has 55 players listed for the upcoming season, head coach Tom Parkevich entering his 3rd season will have 6 seniors, 6 juniors, 13 sophomores and 30 freshmen to make up this year’s squad. The Tiger Football team is picked to finish 9th in the coaches’ poll for the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference (UMAC).  The Tigers received 21 points in the preseason poll this year.The 2013 Overall Record: 2-8
2013 UMAC Record: 2-7, 2013 UMAC Finish: T-8th. This year’s team has 11 Starters back so of course that means they have 11 new starter to find for this years squad. There will be several area athletes playing for Wesleyan this fall.   Donnie Johnson and Tylor Hoyle former Mt. Pleasant Panthers are on the team. Former Panther and Iowa Hawkeye player Jordon Cotton is helping to coach this year. Christian Henriksen of Central Lee, Jonathan Olson of Holy trinity Catholic, and Alek Blain of Danville are other area athletes on the team. The opening game of the season will be September 6th when they host Simpson College.


A reminder for the 5th and 6th grade tackle football league players. Your first practice will be this Thursday night at 6 p.m. at the Maple Leaf Athletic complex.


Here is the schedule for meet the players night.

Friday, August 22nd

5:30 P.M. – Mt. Pleasant Athletic Booster Club begins serving meals

7:15 P.M. – Introductions of Cheerleaders, Players, Managers, and Coaches Begins

– 7th, 8th,  HS Cross Country

– 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, Varsity Football – then 9th & 10th warm up while VB introductions

– 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th  Volleyball

 7:30 P.M. – Intro 7th, 8th, 9th, JV, & Varsity Cheerleaders – 9th grade Offense & 10th Defense scrimmage

7:45 P.M. – 10th Grade Offense vs. 9th Grade Defense

8:00 P.M. – Varsity Kicking Game vs. Air

8:15 P.M. – Varsity Offense vs. Varsity & JV Defense



     A 45-year baseball coaching career of high school kids officially came to an end this week when Gene Schultz tendered his resignation at Kee Lansing High School.

     Schultz is the national win leader with eye-popping numbers. His Iowa record of 1,754 wins and 398 losses dwarfs all other rivals. It includes a record of 176-57 from 11 spring or fall seasons. His National Federation record, which includes summer season games only, is 1,578-341.

     He arrived at Kee High School in the fall of 1969 and almost immediately his teams stamped themselves as a perennial power.

     Under Schultz’s guidance the Kee Hawks authored numerous entries into the Iowa all-time baseball list and the NFHS National Record Book. His teams have an Iowa best of 9 summer state championships which was equaled by Assumption, Davenport this past season. His 9 summer state titles are the best of any Iowa coach.

     He took the Hawks to 19 summer state tournaments and 16 championship games, both Iowa bests for a coach or a school. Their 32 summer state tournament wins (32-10) is also an Iowa best, for a school or a coach. In addition, his teams won two Fall State Championships and finished runner-up twice.

     His teams were noted for playing opponents in all four of Iowa’s class structure and would travel extensively to compete against the top teams. He had a hand in overseeing a revitalization of their home diamond, Shooky Fink Field, turning it into one of the marquee sites for high school baseball.

     Schultz also coached boys’ basketball at Kee, registering 398 victories.


Mt. Pleasant USBC Squaw League will be having a fall organizational meeting Thursday, August 21 at 6:30pm at the Iris Bowling Center. Officers and team captains or team representative should plan on attending as we will be voting on league rules.  Any women interested in bowling on Thursday nights are also encourage to attend and they will help you find a team.






Thursday August 28, 2014

Bettendorf @ Assumption, Davenport 


Friday August 29, 2014

3A District 5

Mount Pleasant at Ottumwa (ND)

Central Lee at Keokuk (ND)
Clear Creek-Amana at Center Point-Urbana (ND)
Fairfield at Davis County (ND)
Pella at Washington (ND)
West Burlington-Notre Dame at Fort Madison (ND)


2A District 5

Camanche at Mediapolis (ND)
Central Lee at Keokuk (ND)
Durant at Mid-Prairie, (ND)
Louisa-Muscatine at Northeast, Goose Lake (ND)
West Burlington-Notre Dame at Fort Madison (ND)
West Liberty at Tipton (ND)
Williamsburg at Wilton (ND)


1A District 5

Durant at Mid-Prairie (ND)
Easton Valley at Bellevue (ND)
Maquoketa Valley, Delhi at Alburnett (ND)
North Cedar, Stanwood at Anamosa (ND)
Wapello at New London (ND)
West Branch at Lisbon (ND)
Williamsburg at Wilton (ND)

1A District 6

Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont at Pekin (ND)
Highland at Danville (ND)
Pella Christian at PCM, Monroe (ND)
Regina, Iowa City at Solon (ND)
Sigourney/Keota at B-G-M, Brooklyn (ND)
WACO at Columbus Community (ND)
West Marshall at Baxter (ND)


“A” District 6

Cardinal, Eldon at Southeast Warren, Liberty Center (ND)
Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont at Pekin (ND)
Highland at Danville (ND)
Iowa Valley, Marengo at Winfield-Mt. Union (ND)
Lone Tree at North Mahaska (ND)
Van Buren at Lynnville-Sully (ND)
WACO, Wayland at Columbus Community (ND)
Wapello at New London (ND)

8 Man District 6
Cedar Valley Christian School at Harmony, Farmington (ND)


4A District 7
Davenport, Central at Burlington (ND)

Comments are closed.