Written by on August 21, 2014 in Sports

The St. Louis Intercollegiate Conference (SLIAC) has released its Preseason Coaches Poll for volleyball. The Tigers have been slated to finish 7th in the conference, after receiving 34 points in the poll. Last season, IWC went 11-19 overall and 7-8 in conference play. BJ Wagy enters her first year as head coach, and is looking to improve the record from last year.

The Tigers have five players returning from last year’s roster. Junior outside hitter Dakota Flesner was a major contributer for the team last season. She was fourth in the conference in kills with 350, and was named Second Team All-Conference. Erica Rookstool, sophomore middle blocker, finished sixth in hitting percentage, and was eighth in solo blocks. Also back for the Tigers is Cierra Howard. Howard averaged 3.38 digs per game last season. Looking to come in and compete for playing time on the court are newcomers Lexa Mahr, Alyssa Morales, and Kali Unruh.Greenville College edged Webster University as the preseason favorites in the 2014 St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Preseason Coaches poll. Greenville received one additional first-place vote to push them into the lead spot.


Former Mt. Pleasant Panther athlete and Central College graduate Spenser Remick won the Iowa’s Strongest Man competition in the Quad Cities last weekend. Spenser scored a total of 20 points to capture 1st in the heavy weight class, the 2nd place competitor scored 16.5 points. The athletes competed in 5 events: Spenser lifted 340 pounds in the log lift, 3 reps in the 700 pound tire dead lift, had 3 reps in the 185 lb. circus DB press, scored 5 points in the medley event and did not score in the Atlas Stone lift.


Three outstanding prep athletes and a veteran coach will be inducted into the Iowa Association of Track Coaches’ Hall of Fame, December 6.

   Joining the elite Hall are Atlantic’s Cortney Jacobs, Oxford Junction’s Phil Coppess and Okoboji’s Kristen (Hansen) Dennis plus Dave Vogelgesang, Tipton’s cross country-track coach and former athletics director .

   The new honorees will be inducted at the noon IATC Banquet, in Ames, December 6, 2014.


A reminder for the 5th and 6th grade tackle football league players. Your first practice will be this tonight at 6 p.m. at the Maple Leaf Athletic complex.


Here is the schedule for meet the players night.

Friday, August 22nd

5:30 P.M. – Mt. Pleasant Athletic Booster Club begins serving meals

7:15 P.M. – Introductions of Cheerleaders, Players, Managers, and Coaches Begins

– 7th, 8th,  HS Cross Country

– 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, Varsity Football – then 9th & 10th warm up while VB introductions

– 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th  Volleyball

 7:30 P.M. – Intro 7th, 8th, 9th, JV, & Varsity Cheerleaders – 9th grade Offense & 10th Defense scrimmage

7:45 P.M. – 10th Grade Offense vs. 9th Grade Defense

8:00 P.M. – Varsity Kicking Game vs. Air

8:15 P.M. – Varsity Offense vs. Varsity & JV Defense



Mt. Pleasant USBC Squaw League will be having a fall organizational meeting tonight at 6:30pm at the Iris Bowling Center. Officers and team captains or team representative should plan on attending as we will be voting on league rules.  Any women interested in bowling on Thursday nights are also encourage to attend and they will help you find a team.




Thursday August 28, 2014

Bettendorf @ Assumption, Davenport 


Friday August 29, 2014

3A District 5

Mount Pleasant at Ottumwa (ND)

Central Lee at Keokuk (ND)
Clear Creek-Amana at Center Point-Urbana (ND)
Fairfield at Davis County (ND)
Pella at Washington (ND)
West Burlington-Notre Dame at Fort Madison (ND)


2A District 5

Camanche at Mediapolis (ND)
Central Lee at Keokuk (ND)
Durant at Mid-Prairie, (ND)
Louisa-Muscatine at Northeast, Goose Lake (ND)
West Burlington-Notre Dame at Fort Madison (ND)
West Liberty at Tipton (ND)
Williamsburg at Wilton (ND)


1A District 5

Durant at Mid-Prairie (ND)
Easton Valley at Bellevue (ND)
Maquoketa Valley, Delhi at Alburnett (ND)
North Cedar, Stanwood at Anamosa (ND)
Wapello at New London (ND)
West Branch at Lisbon (ND)
Williamsburg at Wilton (ND)

1A District 6

Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont at Pekin (ND)
Highland at Danville (ND)
Pella Christian at PCM, Monroe (ND)
Regina, Iowa City at Solon (ND)
Sigourney/Keota at B-G-M, Brooklyn (ND)
WACO at Columbus Community (ND)
West Marshall at Baxter (ND)


“A” District 6

Cardinal, Eldon at Southeast Warren, Liberty Center (ND)
Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont at Pekin (ND)
Highland at Danville (ND)
Iowa Valley, Marengo at Winfield-Mt. Union (ND)
Lone Tree at North Mahaska (ND)
Van Buren at Lynnville-Sully (ND)
WACO, Wayland at Columbus Community (ND)
Wapello at New London (ND)

8 Man District 6
Cedar Valley Christian School at Harmony, Farmington (ND)


4A District 7
Davenport, Central at Burlington (ND)

Comments are closed.