Written by on August 28, 2014 in Sports

Coach Shawn Striegel has announced his starters for tomorrow night’s season opening game at Ottumwa. Joe Hess will be the starting QB, Noah Brown and Pat Canby will be the running backs, Clayle Franklin, Cole Phillips and Ben Canby the receiving corp. Nathan McConnell will start at center, the guards are Tyler Ruby and Cameron Keomanavong, tackles are Keegan Pullis and Collin Baccam. Korte Maddy will do the place kicking, Ben Canby the punting.

Defensively Ben Canby and Dante Vandenberg will be the ends, Keegan Pullis and Cori Fitten are the tackles. Linebackers are Pat Canby, Tyler Ruby, Austin Smith. Safeties are Tony Cristoforo and Beau Parkevich. Cole Phillips and Clayle Franklin are the corners.

KILJ will be broadcasting the game live beginning at 6:30 p.m. with our pregame shows, kickoff is at 7:30 p.m.


The Winfield Mt. Union Wolves had a 3-6 record last year, they opened the 2013 season with a 30-22 win over Iowa Valley. They open the 2014 season with Iowa Valley again, and are hoping for the same result. Coach Scott McCarty says his squad has done a lot of hard work in the off season to make themselves bigger and stronger and he sees an improvement in his teams speed because of the work. The Wolves will continue to run the option on offense hoping to put a few more points on the board. Defensively with the talent they have returning and some talented newcomers,

Coach McCarty feels his team could compete for a playoff spot from their district.



Iowa Wesleyan College Sports schedules for Saturday, Aug 30

Men’s Soccer

Illinois College at 1:00pm
Iowa Wesleyan CST

Women’s Soccer

Illinois College at 3:00pm
Iowa Wesleyan CST

Volleyball (Tigers at Monmouth College Tournament)

Eureka College vs 11:30am
Iowa Wesleyan CST
Lincoln Christian University vs 1:30pm
Iowa Wesleyan CST


Iowa Wesleyan vs 3:30pm
Iowa Wesleyan vs 5:30pm





Thursday August 28, 2014

Bettendorf @ Assumption, Davenport 


Friday August 29, 2014

3A District 5

Mount Pleasant at Ottumwa (ND)

Central Lee at Keokuk (ND)
Clear Creek-Amana at Center Point-Urbana (ND)
Fairfield at Davis County (ND)
Pella at Washington (ND)
West Burlington-Notre Dame at Fort Madison (ND)


2A District 5

Camanche at Mediapolis (ND)
Central Lee at Keokuk (ND)
Durant at Mid-Prairie, (ND)
Louisa-Muscatine at Northeast, Goose Lake (ND)
West Burlington-Notre Dame at Fort Madison (ND)
West Liberty at Tipton (ND)
Williamsburg at Wilton (ND)


1A District 5

Durant at Mid-Prairie (ND)
Easton Valley at Bellevue (ND)
Maquoketa Valley, Delhi at Alburnett (ND)
North Cedar, Stanwood at Anamosa (ND)
Wapello at New London (ND)
West Branch at Lisbon (ND)
Williamsburg at Wilton (ND)

1A District 6

Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont at Pekin (ND)
Highland at Danville (ND)
Pella Christian at PCM, Monroe (ND)
Regina, Iowa City at Solon (ND)
Sigourney/Keota at B-G-M, Brooklyn (ND)
WACO at Columbus Community (ND)
West Marshall at Baxter (ND)


“A” District 6

Cardinal, Eldon at Southeast Warren, Liberty Center (ND)
Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont at Pekin (ND)
Highland at Danville (ND)
Iowa Valley, Marengo at Winfield-Mt. Union (ND)
Lone Tree at North Mahaska (ND)
Van Buren at Lynnville-Sully (ND)
WACO, Wayland at Columbus Community (ND)
Wapello at New London (ND)

8 Man District 6
Cedar Valley Christian School at Harmony, Farmington (ND)


4A District 7
Davenport, Central at Burlington (ND)

Comments are closed.