Men’s College Basketball: Murray Named Naismith Finalist

The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced on Tuesday the four finalists vying for the honor of the 2022 Naismith Trophy, which includes University of Iowa men’s basketball sophomore forward Keegan Murray.

The prestigious award recognizes the most outstanding men’s college basketball player.

Joining Murray as a finalist for the award are Ochai Agbaji of Kansas, Wisconsin’s Johnny Davis, and Oscar Tshiebwe of Kentucky.

The University of Iowa is the only school to have both a men’s and women’s basketball student-athlete represented as a 2022 finalist; Iowa’s Caitlin Clark is a finalist for the women’s trophy.

This marks the third consecutive season that Iowa has had a Naismith Trophy Finalist — with Luka Garza each of the past two seasons and Murray this.

Last week, Murray became the program’s fourth consensus first-team All-American joining Murray Weir, Charles Darling and Garza.

Murray is expected to forgo the rest of his eligibility at Iowa to enter this summer’s NBA Draft.

Murray is a projected lottery pick there.

Women’s College Basketball: Clark Joins Murray on Naismith Finalist List

University of Iowa women’s basketball sophomore Caitlin Clark has been named a Naismith Player of the Year Finalist.

The list of finalists include Clark, South Carolina’s Aliyah Boston, NC State’s Elissa Cunane and Baylor’s NaLyssa Smith.

Clark, a Des Moines, Iowa, native, led the nation in points per game (27.0), assists per game (8.0), triple doubles and 30-point games.

In January, Clark joined the likes of Kobe Bryant, LeBron James, Russell Westbrook, James Hardin, Luka Dončić and Giannis Antetokounmpo as the only NBA, WNBA, Division I men’s and women’s basketball to record back-to-back 30-point triple doubles since 2000.

Clark was named Big Ten Player of the Year and Big Ten Tournament MVP, while earning unanimous first team All-Big Ten honors and an All-Big Ten Tournament spot.

Men’s College Basketball: Jacobson a Finalist for Coach of the Year

UNI head men’s basketball coach Ben Jacobson has been named one of 20 finalists for the 2022 Hugh Durham National Coach of the Year Award.

The annual award is presented to the top mid-major men’s basketball coach in NCAA Division I.

This season, Jacobson coached the Panthers to a 20-12 overall record and 14-4 mark in MVC play, securing the program’s fourth overall regular season conference title, and third outright championship.

He orchestrated two All-MVC honors for his players in A.J. Green and Bowen Born.

UNI earned the league’s automatic berth to the NIT, where the Panthers were defeated by BYU in the second round.

College Football: Iowa State Completes Pro Day

11 former Cyclones, including several All-Americans and All-Big 12 performers, tested out in front of the NFL Scouts to further enhance their professional stock in Ames yesterday as apart of Iowa State’s Pro Day.

Breece Hall, Brock Purdy, Charlie Kolar and Chase Allen headlined the day.

There were 49 scouts from 31 NFL teams in attendance to observe, test and time the Cyclones in the various drills and competition.

Hall has a chance to be the first running back selected, while Purdy is attempting to be Iowa State’s first quarterback taken since 2003 when Seneca Wallace was selected.

The first round of the draft will be Thursday, April 28th.

College Baseball: Wesleyan Rained Out 

The Iowa Wesleyan baseball team will have to wait to battle Culver-Stockton.

The Tigers have cancelled this afternoon’s game due to rain and wet field conditions.

Wesleyan was scheduled to play nine this afternoon at Mapleleaf Athletic Complex and the game was going to air on FM 105.5.

You can hear their twinbill against William Penn on FM 105.5 next Tuesday, with game one starting at 3:00 p.m.