College Wrestling: Iowa Advances 10 to NCAA Nationals

Lincoln (Ne.) — Ten Hawkeyes earned automatic berths to the NCAA Championships in Detroit on March 17-19 following this weekend’s Big Ten Tournament.

It marks the first time since 2010 Iowa earned 10 automatic berths to the national tournament.

The Big Ten Conference tournament is one of seven NCAA qualifying tournaments across the country.

The NCAA will announce the NCAA at-large qualifiers Tuesday. NCAA tournament brackets will be released Wednesday.

Among those qualifiers was Alex Marinelli who is now the eighth four-time conference champion in program history and the first since Mark Ironside in 1998.

Drake Ayala, a freshman from Fort Dodge, is just the fourth true freshman to earn a spot in the NCAA Championships.

He’s the first since 2020 and Abe Assad.