Men’s College Basketball: Murray Named Naismith Finalist

Iowa City — The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced on Tuesday the four finalists vying for the honor of the 2022 Naismith Trophy, which includes University of Iowa men’s basketball sophomore forward Keegan Murray.

The prestigious award recognizes the most outstanding men’s college basketball player.

Joining Murray as a finalist for the award are Ochai Agbaji of Kansas, Wisconsin’s Johnny Davis, and Oscar Tshiebwe of Kentucky.

The University of Iowa is the only school to have both a men’s and women’s basketball student-athlete represented as a 2022 finalist; Iowa’s Caitlin Clark is a finalist for the women’s trophy.

This marks the third consecutive season that Iowa has had a Naismith Trophy Finalist — with Luka Garza each of the past two seasons and Murray this.

Last week, Murray became the program’s fourth consensus first-team All-American joining Murray Weir, Charles Darling and Garza.

Murray is expected to forgo the rest of his eligibility at Iowa to enter this summer’s NBA Draft.

Murray is a projected lottery pick there.