Women’s College Basketball: Clark Named a Wade Trophy Finalist

Iowa City — University of Iowa women’s basketball sophomore Caitlin Clark was named a Wade Trophy finalist and WBCA All-Region honoree along with senior Monika Czinano, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced Thursday.

The Wade Trophy — in its 45th year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball.

It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen.

The list includes Clark, South Carolina’s Aliyah Boston, Kentucky’s Rhyne Howard and Baylor’s NaLyssa Smith.

Clark broke the 1,000-career point barrier against Evansville in early January and became the fastest Division I player (men’s or women’s) to reach 1,500 career points over the last 20 seasons, reaching the feat in 56 games.