College Football: Five Tigers Earn All Conference Honors

Mount Pleasant — Five Iowa Wesleyan Tiger football players have earned North Star Athletic Association All-Conference honors, the league announced yesterday.

Quarterback Gavin Esquivel, wide receiver Jaden Harris and defensive backs Kaden Henley and Major Niccum were all honored as Honorable Mention All-Conference selections.

Esquivel finished fourth in the league with 203 yards per game while setting the school record for most passing touchdowns in a single game when Iowa Wesleyan defeated Crown College earlier this year.

Henley morphed into a ballhawk in the second half of the year, leading M.D. Daniels’ defense with six interceptions and seven pass breakups.

Niccum was a chess piece as for Daniels’, as well, displaying incredible defensive versatility. Niccum led the team in tackles with 87 while adding two interception and four pass breakups.

Jaheem Hampton was awarded this year’s Champions of Character award for Iowa Wesleyan.

Hampton was a leader on and off the field over this season and his entire career, finishing this season with 33 solo tackles.