Men’s College Basketball: CAC Announces Men’s Awards

KILJ — Florida College senior Matt Simpson has taken men’s basketball Player of the Year honors in the Continental Athletic Conference after helping lead the Falcons to the 2021-22 championship and NAIA postseason tournament.

Iowa Wesleyan freshman Joey Brown was named to the All-CAC First Team.

Brown averaged 14.8 points per game this season and shot 49.4% from the field. He also chipped in with five boards and three assists per game.

Carver Locke and Marvin Bateman were named Honorable Mention All-CAC.

Locke recorded 12.2 points per game while Bateman finished just south of 10 points per game while connecting on 37% of his three point shots.

Iowa Wesleyan finished their season with a CAC semifinal loss to Simpson and Florida College.