New Electric Vehicle Chargers Tax Beginning July 1st

The Iowa Department of Revenue would like to remind owners of non-residential electric vehicle chargers that new tax changes take effect on July 1st, 2023.

Owners of these charging stations will now be held responsible for reporting and paying the Iowa Department of Revenue two and six-tenths cents for each kilowatt hour ($0.026 per kWh) of electric fuel dispensed into either the vehicle batter or energy storage device. Any business or organization, including nonprofits and local governments, that has a charging station for employees or customers will need a license. Licensing and taxation does not apply to electric fuel dispensed at residences. For more information, follow the link below.

Electric Fuel Excise Tax