Prep Baseball: Super Conference Names All-Conference Teams

By: Nathan Bloechl —

KILJ — The Southeast Iowa Super Conference has named their 2021 All-Conference Team, conference commissioner Don Lamm has announced.

Representing the North Division on the first team was the Mediapolis duo of pitcher Tyler Samuel and outfielder Josh Darbyshire.

The North Division Player of the Year was Mediapolis’ Jaxon Brooks.

Brooks hit .427 this year with seven doubles, six triples and two home runs.

He drove in a team-high 27 runs.

Mediapolis was also well represented on the second-team, with Aidan Danz, Max McClure and Ryan Ensminger all representing the Bulldogs.

Winfield-Mount Union junior infielder Nick Crow was selected to the second team.

Crow hit .295 with a double and drove in nine.

The South Division was littered with local talent.

New London had several on the first team, Hecniel Rodriguez, Tucker Gibbar, Kooper Schulte and Carter Allen comprised the 1st Team infield.

Josh Catala was honored as a first team outfielder, his teammate Camden Kasel was a second team choice.

Catala was also the Player of the Year in the South Division.

The junior hit .462 with three doubles, three triples and two homers. He drove in 26 and stole 24 bases.

Danville’s Grifen Molle and Sawyer Nelson were selected to the first and second teams respectively.

Mediapolis’ Rick Whitaker was the North Division Coach of the Year, while Brad Helmerson of New London was the Coach of the Year in the South Division.

Helmerson and New London will take on Lansing Kee in the first round of the Class 1A State Tournament Monday afternoon.