Sports, November 7th

High School Football

For 8-player, Winfield-Mt. Union will take on Bishop Garrigan tomorrow, November 8th, at 10 am. KILJ 105.5 FM,, will have the call with the pregame show at 9:45 am. Despite Bishop Garrigan coming into the contest as the perceived underdog, Head Coach Scott McCarty knows his team is not relying on their ranking.

Gladbrook-Reinbeck will face off against Bedford tomorrow at 1 pm.

In Class A, Madrid will take on West Hancock on Thursday, November 9th, at 10 am followed by East Buchanan and Woodbury Central.

The Class 1A semifinals will take place on Friday, November 10th, with Columbus Catholic facing off against Grundy Center at 10 am and MFL MarMac competing against Underwood at 1 pm. 

The Class 2A semifinals will be on Saturday, November 11th, with Monticello taking on Van Meter at 10 am and Spirit Lake clashing with Central Lyon/George-Little Rock at 1 pm.

Class 3A will also play on Saturday with Bishop Heelan taking on Creston at 4 pm and Williamsburg getting a rematch against Solon.

At 4 pm on Thursday, North Polk will take on Lewis Central with Bondurant-Farrar and Western Dubuque playing at 7 pm.

Class 5A will round out the day on Friday with Valley taking on Southeast Polk at 4 pm and Ankeny Centennial battling with Ankeny at 7 pm.

All-District Teams

With all members of Class 3A District 4 officially eliminated from postseason play for the 2023 season, here’s a look at the highlights of the All-District teams.

All District Players of the Year belong to Mount Vernon with senior quarterback Joey Rhomberg being named Offensive Player of the Year with 24 passing touchdowns on the season and 34 total touchdowns, which led the district.

Senior linebacker Jackson Jaspers earned Defensive Player of the Year with 66.5 tackles, 8.5 sacks, 15.5 tackles for loss, and a fumble recovery for a touchdown.

Andrew Heck was named Offensive Lineman of the Year and Ethan Wood, who led the district in sacks, was tabbed Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Looking at the All-District 1st Teams, Mount Vernon paced the district with 12 selections with Davenport Assumption closely behind with 10 selections. 

Fort Madison had five 1st-Team nominations with Isaac Thatcher named to the offensive line that helped the Bloodhounds rush and pass for over 1,000 yards. Keokuk’s four nominations were headlined by Chase Eckland, senior wide receiver, who tallied 513 yards and five touchdowns.

Mount Pleasant had two players named to the All-District 2nd Team Offense in running back Payton Walker, a junior, and offensive lineman, Nolan Frueh, also a junior. Walker was used all around the offense with stints at running back, fullback, and quarterback.

Ultimately, Walker tossed for 582 yards and four touchdowns, rushed for 609 yards and eight touchdowns, and caught four passes for 51 yards. Frueh was a part of the front line that rushed for 976 yards and passed for 823 yards.

High School Basketball

The Mt. Pleasant girls team will host a jamboree on November 13th with four games on the slate with each game given a 45 minute time limit.

Lone Tree and Burlington will start off the night with the first game at 6 pm. Mediapolis and Keokuk will follow at 6:45 pm. Winfield-Mt. Union will take on Fairfield at 7:30 pm. Lastly, Mt. Pleasant and WACO will face off at 8:15 pm.

College Football

Iowa State University will face off against BYU this Saturday, November 11th, at 9:15 pm. This is the first meeting between the two teams since 1974.

Iowa will host Rutgers on Saturday at 11 am. 

For the Hawkeye broadcast, tune in to KILJ 105.5 FM. For the Cyclone broadcast, tune in to KILJ 98.5 FM and AM 1130.

College Basketball

The Iowa State University men’s team blew past Green Bay last night 85-44.

The Iowa women’s team dominated FDU to the tune of 102-46. Caitlin Clark led the way with a double-double, notching 28 points and 10 assists.

This Day in Sports History

1933 – Pennsylvania voters overturn blue law, by permitting Sunday sports.

1943 – The Detroit Lions 0, the New York Giants 0; last scoreless tie in NFL.

1989 – Baltimore Orioles Gregg Olson is the first relief pitcher to win AL Rookie of Year.