Sports, Tuesday, November 9th

Prep Football: Edeker Honored in 8P-6 as Coach of the Year:

Following their 10-1 season that saw them finish one game shy of the UNI Dome, WACO head coach Chad Edeker has been named 8-Player District 6 Coach of the Year, which was announced late last week.

Edeker guided the Warriors to an undefeated district season before stumbling in the state quarterfinals last week to No. 6 Audubon.

Joining Edeker with accolades along the first team from WACO was running back Simeon Reichenbach and offensive linemen Tim Willits and Taylor Sutton.

Defensively, Tyler Sutton, Drew Diers and Jon Rice were all first team choices.

Winfield-Mount Union sophomore quarterback — and Iowa recruit — Cam Buffington was named first-team all district after leading the Wolves offense in every major statistical category.

Abram Edwards, his top target, was also a first-team honoree.

The pollsters voted New London’s Boden Pickle as a first-team choice, as well.

New London’s Josh Glendening was the only other local selection among the first team — Glendening was listed as a defensive lineman.

Second team All-District honorees included:

  • Isaac Oswald, WACO
  • Caleb Giese, W-MU
  • Bowen Glaha, New London
  • Joel Lacy, New London
  • Noah Sparrow, W-MU
  • Cole Milks, W-MU
  • Dominic Lopez, New London

Prep Track and Field: Brumbaugh Commits to Iowa State:

A year after throwing 44’9 at the 2021 State Track and Field Championships, Mount Pleasant’s Jadan Brumbaugh has officially made her college decision.

The 2021 State Champion, Brumbaugh will join the ranks in Ames, competing for the Iowa State Track and Field team.

Brumbaugh announced her decision via social media last week.

Brumbaugh joined Lexie Magnani — who throws at UNI — as the second consecutive Panther girl to win the Class 3A title at state.

The Cyclones are under direction of Jeremy Sudbury, who is now in his first season as the the Director of Track & Field/Cross Country after spending the last eight years in the program as an assistant.

College Football: McDonald, Mevis Honored by Big 12:

A pair of Iowa State football players were honored by the Big Conference today for their performances against Texas.

Defensive end Will McDonald IV was named the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week and placekicker Andrew Mevis received Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Week accolades.

Both players earned their respective awards for the second time this season.

McDonald IV posted career highs in tackles (six) and sacks (2.5) while also becoming Iowa State’s all-time sack leader.

Mevis did not miss a kick against the Longhorns including a 51-yarder that put the game on ice in the 4th Quarter.

Iowa State will be back in action this Saturday when they travel to Lubbock, Texas to scrap with Texas Tech.

Kick is set for 2:30 p.m.

College Football: UNI’s Day Makes FCS Player of the Year Watch List:

UNI football quarterback Theo Day is among the candidates on the 2021 midseason watch list for the FCS National Performer of the Year trophy.

Day is in his first year at UNI after transferring from Michigan State.

The Canton, Michigan, native took over starting duties as the Panther quarterback at UNI’s first home game of the season where the Panthers routed Saint Thomas, 44-3.

Day has thrown 12 touchdowns this season.

UNI will be on the road this weekend the Panthers travel to battle with Missouri State.

Kick is set for 2:00 p.m.


  • Longwood at Iowa 9:00 p.m. tip
  • Kennesaw State at Iowa State 7:00 p.m. tip