The 2024 Iowa Girls’ High School Basketball State Champions

Des Moines, IA- The 2024 Iowa Girls’ Basketball State Tournament is in the books and here’s a look at the all-tournament teams and the champions from each class.

Class 5A saw undefeated #1 Johnston taking down #3 Dowling Catholic 48-36. Jenica Lewis was the Iowa Pork Producers Top Producer of the Game with 20 points for the Dragons. Ali Tanke cashed in for 15 points and 13 rebounds for a double-double.

Ava Zediker splashed three three-pointers for 25 points for Dowling Catholic.

For Class 4A, it was the battle of the unbeatens as #1 Clear Creek-Amana and #2 Waverly-Shell Rock entered the contest with identical 25-0 records. Unfortunately for the Go-Hawks, they never stood a chance as the Clippers sailed to a 43-25 victory.

Averie Lower of Clear Creek-Amana took home Iowa Pork Producers Top Producer of the Game after finishing with 17 points in the game. But it was Ava Locklear that finished with a double-double, scoring 11 points and nabbing 19 rebounds in the win.

Brenna Bodensteiner was the only player to finish in double figures with 10 points for Waverly-Shell Rock.

The Class 3A championship had #3 Solon leading 37 to 35 entering the fourth quarter against #1 Estherville-Lincoln Central and thanks to the Top Producer of the game Callie Levin’s 27 points the Spartans would run away with the win 54-47.

Aiding in the effort was Hailey Miller as she ended the game with 14 points and Anna Quillin’s 16 rebounds. Estherville-Lincoln Central’s Haylee Stokes gave it all she had with 30 points as she nailed all 10 of her free throws.

Fans got to witness a nail-biter between #1 Dike-New Hartford and #2 Panorama for the Class 2A championship. The Wolverines and Panthers entered the fourth quarter knotted up at 37. Panorama even seemed poised to end Dike-New Hartford’s three-year run as they led 42 to 39 in the fourth quarter.

However, the Wolverines became just the second school in the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union era to win four consecutive championships. Payton Petersen was the Top Producer with 27 points and 14 rebounds to round out her senior year. Jaidyn Sellers was the top scorer for the Panthers with 20 points.

North Linn shot over 70% from the field in the first half and rode that momentum to defeat Newell-Fonda 67-51. Kamryn Kurt was the Top Producer with 23 points as Macy Boge added 17 points to the effort.

The Mustangs had three players finish in double figures in Kierra Jungers (17 points), Kinzee Hinders (16 points), and Mckenna Sievers (15 points).

Class 5A All-Tournament Team

Aili Tanke, Johnston
Ellie Mueller, Dowling Catholic
Grace Knutson, Cedar Falls
Divine Bourrage, Davenport North
Ava Zediker, Dowling Catholic|
Jenica Lewis, Johnston (Captain)

Class 4A All-Tournament Team

Bliss Beck, Clear Creek-Amana
Katelyn Eggena, Waverly-Shell Rock
Abby Tuttle, North Polk
Melina Snoozy, Sioux City Bishop Heelan
Averie Lower, Clear Creek-Amana
Ava Locklear, Clear Creek-Amana (Captain)

Class 3A All-Tournament Team

Anna Quillin, Solon
Rylee Yager, Estherville Lincoln Central
Chloe Meester, Mount Vernon
Abby Hall, Des Moines Christian
Callie Levin, Solon
Haylee Stokes, Estherville Lincoln Central (Captain)

Class 2A All-Tournament Team

Tyme Boettcher, Panorama
Maryn Bixby, Dike-New Hartford
Morgan Christian, Sioux Central
Jadyn Petersen, Dike-New Hartford
Jaidyn Sellers, Panorama
Payton Petersen, Dike-New Hartford (Captain)

Class 1A All-Tournament Team

Molly Boge, North Linn
McKenna Sievers, Newell-Fonda
Avah Underwood, Council Bluffs St. Albert
Kierra Jungers, Newell-Fonda
Kamryn Kurt, North Linn
Macy Boge, North Linn (Captain)