Sports, June 5th

High School Soccer

The boys’ and girls’ state tournaments are over and here are the state champions.

The girls’ Class 1A state championship featured one of the first upsets of the day as the #7 seed Bishop Heelan defeated last year’s runner-up Davenport Assumption 2-0.

The Class 1A boys’ state championship was decided in the second half when Western Christian netted two goals to defeat Grundy Center/Gladbrook-Reinbeck 2-0.

The boys Class 2A state championship needed overtime and two rounds of penalty kicks to decide the final as Gilbert took down Davenport Assumption 3-2.

In a rematch of last year’s state championship for the girls’ Class 2A state championship, Dallas Center-Grimes repeated history by defeating Waverly-Shell Rock 2-0.

In the girls’ Class 3A state championship, Johnston and Valley traded goals in the first half then no goals were scored until the second round of penalty kicks as the Dragons came out on top 3 to 2 to win the crown 2-1.

The #6 seed Iowa City Liberty handled Norwalk 5-0 to walk away with the boys’ Class 3A state championship.

Lastly, the Class 4A state championship went to Johnston after the double-overtime winner to defeat Iowa City West 3-2.

Mt. Pleasant Track

The girls’ and boys’ teams announced their 2023 Track and Field special award winners after a successful season for both teams. 

For the girls’ team, Tristan Shull earned the Panther Award. Andi Scott was the leading scorer and Ava English grabbed the Comeback Award. Rellana Van Deuren and Savannah Slobodnik were named CO-Most Improved. Lastly, Abby Carthey nabbed the Newcomer Award.

For the boys’ team, the Shuttle Hurdle team of Avin Truong, Gavin Kerr, Will Davidson, and Bryce Wilson claimed a new school record. Truong also grabbed the Most Improved award. Jacob Richtman earned the Panther Award. Davidson along with being the leading scorer also broke school records in the 110 meter high hurdles and the 200 meter dash. Lastly, Jude Dykstra nabbed the Newcomer Award.

Mt. Pleasant Soccer

The Southeast Conference announced their conference awards for the boys and the Panthers nabbed four awards. Dylan White earned 1st team All-Conference after leading the Panthers in goals with 14 on the season. Mario Carpia Segundo was named 1st team All-Conference for his defensive play.

Rudy Ruiz Motta was an Honorable Mention after saving 115 shots between the posts. Jackson Newman earned an Honorable Mention for the Panthers. 

The Panthers finished 5th in conference with a 4-10 overall record.

High School Baseball

Mt. Pleasant will have a home doubleheader against Keokuk tonight.

Winfield-Mt. Union will host Lone Tree tomorrow, June 6th.

Danville will take on BGM today.

Central Lee will host Danville tomorrow.

New London will look to get back in the win column against Lone Tree tonight on the road.

High School Softball

Mt. Pleasant will host a doubleheader against Keokuk today.

Winfield-Mt. Union will host Lone Tree tomorrow, June 6th.

Danville will face off against Central Lee tomorrow.

Holy Trinity Catholic will take on Highland on June 7th.

New London will compete against Lone Tree tonight.

Iowa Baseball

The Hawkeyes were eliminated from the NCAA tournament yesterday after their second loss of the regional. On Saturday, the Hawkeyes lost to Indiana State 7-4 after the Sycamores scored 5 runs in the bottom of the 8th inning. Raider Tello, Sam Hojnar, Michael Seegers, and Kyle Huckstorf each collected an RBI in the game.

In this double elimination tournament, Iowa had to take on North Carolina once again yesterday. The contest took 13 innings, but the Hawkeyes scraped across a run in the top of the 13th inning off a Seegers RBI triple to win 6-5. Brennen Dorighi went 4 for 5 with 3 RBIs in the game.

The win meant a rematch against Indiana State later in the day. In another back-and-forth contest, the Sycamores would break away in the 7th inning to take the regional championship 11-8. Dorighi added 3 more RBIs to his total in the losing effort.

The Hawkeyes finished the season with a 44-16 record.

This Day in Sports History

1920 – Philadelphia Athletics’s VP Thomas Shibe denies charges that baseballs are livelier.

1981 – Astros’ Nolan Ryan passes Early Wynn as all-time walk leader (1,777).

2018 – American boxer Floyd Mayweather Jr. named 2017 top earning sportsperson by Forbes with $285 million.