Keokuk Claimed Both SEC Titles for Bowling

Prep Bowling- The Southeast Conference had the conference tournament yesterday with Keokuk nabbing the titles for both the girls’ and boys’ claiming both by over 100 pins. Here is a look at the results for both tournaments and All-Conference bowlers.

For the girls’ side of things, Mt. Pleasant claimed 2nd place by over 400 pins as Burlington took 3rd place followed by Fairfield and Washington, respectively. Keokuk and Mt. Pleasant both finished with five SEC All-Conference bowlers, as the Panthers had the top bowler in Addison McGehearty, who finished with 415 total pins. Keokuk had the next five bowlers in the standings with Rachel Moore, Jaelynn Ketterer, Olivia Rule, Sophia Rule, and Natalee Alberts all earning All-Conference. Tori Hixson, Kylie Alldredge, Bethany Drury, and Kya Goodrich were the other Panthers to earn All-Conference. Fairfield and Burlington each had one All-Conference bowler with Rae Ehret for the Trojans and Katelyn Ott for the Grayhounds.

For the boys’ teams, Burlington finished in 2nd place with the Panthers claiming 3rd place. Fairfield and Washington took 4th and 5th, respectively. Burlington and Keokuk each had four bowlers claim All-Conference honors as the Chiefs had the top three bowlers in DJ Balentine, Pray Lawson, and Chase Hemann, respectively. For the Grayhounds, Austin Cooper finished in 4th with 412 total pins followed by Keaton Lair, as Christian Snyder and Ian Mason also claimed All-Conference. Brayden Picton was the final Chief to take All-Conference. Fairfield had two All-Conference bowlers in Ian Aplara and Chase Johnston. Alec Payne was the lone Panther to claim All-Conference.

The state qualifying meet for the Keokuk, Burlington, and Mt. Pleasant girls’ teams will take place Monday, February 13th, at 9 am as hosted by Keokuk. For the boys, Keokuk, Burlington, and Mt. Pleasant will have their state qualifying meet will by Tuesday, February 14th, at 9 am also hosted by Keokuk. Fairfield and Washington will go to the Rose Bowl in Louisa-Muscatine at 9 am on the same day. To qualify as a team, you must finish as one of the top two teams at your site. To qualify individually, the top 8 scores from a site will make it to state.