State Qualifiers for Class 1A Boys’ Wrestling: Dom Lopez Looking to End High School Career as State Champ

Prep Wrestling- District wrestling took place last night for all classifications to decide who will be attending the state tournament. To make it to state for Class 1A and 2A, a wrestler must finish in first or second place for their weight class and for Class 3A, a third-place wrestler will also qualify. Here are the state qualifiers from Class 1A for our local schools.

In Class 1A District 9, WACO was headlined by Gage Samo taking first place over Jackson Knapp of Lisbon by a 9-3 decision in the 113-pound weight class. Louden Huisenga also punched his ticket by winning the 160-pound weight class by fall over Jake Moore of Sigourney-Keota. Lastly, Drew Diers captured 2nd place over Ryan Doud of Pekin for the 195-pound weight class.

Louisa-Muscatine will have one wrestler at the state tournament as Spencer Kessel won the 220-pound weight class by fall over Indy Ferguson of Lisbon.

In Class 1A District 12, Wapello will have two wrestlers competing at state with the first being Codder Malcom as he took 2nd place in a no contest over Dakota Aney of Mediapolis of the 106-pound weight class. Zach Harbison claimed 2nd place by no contest over Peyton Johnson of Mediapolis in the 138-pound weight class.

The New London Tigers will have four wrestlers heading to Des Moines with two of them having won their weight class. In the 126-pound weight class, Gage Burden took 2nd place on a 11-4 decision over Trey Ramer of Durant. Dom Lopez won the 160-pound weight class by tech fall over Jordan Buford of Midland, and Michael Raines claimed first place in the 170-pound weight class on a 6-4 decision over Gatlin Rogers of Wilton. Lastly, Trent Wilkerson claimed 2nd place over Grant Gray of Northeast Community by fall in the 195-pound weight class.

Mediapolis will have two Bulldogs in the running with Josh Glendening winning the 195-pound weight class on a 6-0 decision over Trent Wilkerson. Kyler Crow won by major decision over Ty Frasher of Cascade to take 2nd place in the 152-pound weight class.

Wilton had 9 wrestlers win their weight class, but they will take 10 to the tournament. Mason Shirk won the 106-pound weight class, and Austin Etzel defeated Timmy Hosier of West Branch by fall to take the 113-pound weight class. Gabriel Brisker won by major decision to take Lincoln Edwards in the 120-pound weight class, and Brody Brisker took the 126-pound weight class by fall. Jordan Dusenberry won the 132-pound weight class by a 6-3 decision and Trae Hagen claimed the 138-pound weight class by tech fall over Zach Harbison of Wapello. Hayden Hill won the 145-pound weight class by an 8-1 decision, and Kaden Shirk defeated Caden Ballou of Midland by a 9-2 decision to take the 182-pound weight class. Lastly, Alexander Kaufmann won the 285-pound weight class by fall over Quintyn Rocha of West Branch and Gatlin Rogers won by no contest over Kamdyn Kraklio of Durant in the 170-pound weight class.

The state tournament begins on February 15th and will run through the 18th at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines. KILJ will have results throughout those days.