Mt. Pleasant School Board Election Candidates

The Mt. Pleasant School Board election is fast approaching, with many candidates, both old and new, putting their name into the hat. 11 candidates are duking it out for just seven seats.

All seven seats are up for election due to the redistricting that occurred. Instead of two at large, there are now two seats in district 1, two seats in district two, and three at large seats.

For the At-Large 4 Year position, Mike Hampton, Angie Blint, and Dana Millard, are the options. There are only two positions available, so one candidate will miss out. Kevin Schrader and Josh Maher will face off for a two-year At-Large spot. Melinda Huisinga is running uncontested for District 1 two year, while Aaron Williamson is uncontested for the 4-year in the same district. A battle is going to ensue for a four-year District 2 seat, as Sarah Donnolly and Danny Graber will both be looking for one seat, while Kevin Sandersfeld will try to retain a position. Derek Mullin is the only candidate in the running for a two year seat in District 2.

The election is slated for Tuesday, November 7th. KILJ will continue to bring updates to this situation.