Prep Track and Field: Day One Results for the 2024 State Track Meet for Class 1A and Class 4A

Des Moines, IA- The 2024 Iowa State Track championships are one day down as Class 1A and Class 4A have finished up their first days’ worth of events. Here’s a look at how our local athletes fared.

Running Events

The first event was the boys’ shuttle hurdle relay as Class 1A featured two local teams and Burlington fielded a team in Class 4A.

WACO’s squad of Louden Huisenga, Gage Samo, Casey Coakley, and Clayton Miller finished in 18th place with a time on 1 minute and 5 seconds, while Columbus qualified with the 4th best time of 1 minute and 2 seconds with the team of Johnathan Miranda, Riley Kaalberg, Alexander Rees, and Lamar Ceant.

Braxton Carlson, CJ Owens, John Phillips, and Salomon Cordero grabbed 23rd place with a time of 1 minute and 5 seconds.

Marie Yoder of Hillcrest Academy took 16th place in the Class 1A 3000-meter run with a time of 11 minutes and 30 seconds.

The 200-meter dash preliminary did not see anyone advance to the finals. The girls’ Class 1A dash saw Rya Scott of Hillcrest Academy finished in 19th place with a time of 26.8 seconds.

In the boys’ Class 1A 200-meter dash, Ayden Doyle of Danville grabbed 12th place while Kaiden Amigon of Columbus took 10th place with a time of 22.55 seconds. Lastly, Burlington’s Ladarrius Shealey finished in 15th place (22.54 seconds).

The Danville boys’ team of Jackson Shacklett, Nick Powell, Carter Fesler, and Noah Horn grabbed three points with a 6th place finish in the 4×800 meter relay with a time of 8 minutes and 12 seconds.

The 100-meter dash presented eight total local athletes competing. In the girls’ Class 1A race, Aurey Meeker of Winfield-Mt. Union grabbed 24th place and Scott qualified for the Saturday finals with a time of 12.69 seconds, which was good enough for 6th place.

For the girls’ Class 4A dash, Burlington’s Mylee Stiefel advanced to the finals with the second-best time of the field with a time of 12.2 seconds, while Shariah Hart grabbed 15th place with a time of 12.66 seconds.

The boys’ Class 1A 100-meter dash had Doyle finish in 9th place with a time of 11.06 seconds. Amigon took 11th place with a time of 11.1 seconds. Kaalberg finished in 18th place, while New London’s Brigham Porter grabbed 23rd place.

The girls’ Class 1A 400-meter dash featured Rya Scott in her third of four events of the day, she took 15th place with a time of 1 minute and 2 seconds. Burlington’s Joey Jolin grabbed 23rd place for the boys’ Class 4A dash.

In the final event of the day, WACO and Winfield-Mt. Union each fielded teams in the girls’ shuttle hurdle relay.

The Wolves finished one spot in front of the Warriors in 13th place with a time of 1 minute and 12.13 seconds with the team of Tessa Huston, Suttyn Schlee, Meeker, and Josie Nelson. The Warriors finished the race in 1 minute and 12.33 seconds with the team of Brenna Graber, Madelyn Farmer, Ally Rinner, and Zoey Dennler.

Field Events

At 2 pm, the boys’ Class 1A long jump had three participants from the Southeast Iowa Super Conference competing and one garnering points.

Clayton Miller of WACO finished in 19th place with a distance of 19 feet and 1.25 inches. New London’s London Franklin grabbed 12th place after leaping 20 feet and 0.25 inches. Lastly, Owen Scott of Hillcrest Academy took 3rd place after jumping 21 feet and 7.25 inches, getting six points for the Ravens.

Burlington’s freshman sensation, Kylee Hill, tossed the discus 137 feet and 10 inches, which was good enough for 4th place, totaling five points for the Grayhounds.

To finish out the field events at 4:30 pm, Danville’s Kenna Furnald finished in 7th place with a leap of 16 feet and 3.75 inches, which gave Danville two points, and Rya Scott grabbed 24th place with a leap of 14 feet and 0.25 inches.

Russell Coil of Columbus ripped a throw 51 feet and 10.25 inches to take the bronze in the boys’ Class 1A shot put.

Team Standings

Boys’ Class 1A: Wapsie Valley (19), Woodbine (17), Lisbon (12)

Girls’ Class 1A: AGWSR and St. Edmond (14), Pekin (12), Wayne (10)

Boys’ Class 4A: Ankeny (37), Dowling Catholic (25), Davenport West and Cedar Falls (18)

Girls’ Class 4A: Pleasant Valley (24), Johnston (19), Valley (18)

How to Watch

The Iowa High School Sports Network (IHSSN) will live stream and broadcast the entire coed State Track Championship. It will air on the IHSSN Cable Network and be streamed for free at or the WatchIHSSN app. You can access the stream through the IHSAA or IGHSAU websites.

KILJ will continue providing updates throughout the state track championships.