Prep Volleyball: Leighton Messinger Tabbed SEC Player of the Year

SEC Volleyball- The season is now over for all Southeast Conference (SEC) teams and the All-Conference list has been dished out with Fairfield, the conference champion, leading the conference with six honorees.

Fairfield finished 9-1 in conference play, which includes their 5-0 record in the SEC tournament, and 20-12 overall, as the Trojans fell to Assumption in the Class 3A Region 8 semifinals. Headlining the squad is three 1st Team All-Conference players.

Maddy Jones, senior, led the conference in assists with 633 for the season, while also adding 34 kills on just one error for the offense. Jones also led the conference in aces with 51 on the season.

Rowan Terrell was another successful senior for Fairfield as her presence at the net helped her lead the conference in block solos (26) and blocks (65), while ranking second in block assists (39). Her kill efficiency also ranked second in the conference with a mark of 0.209.

Lastly, Lilly Bergren ranked fourth in the conference with a 0.183 kill efficiency as a junior. Bergren finished the season with 219 kills, fourth in the conference, and 245 digs, 13th in conference.

Claire Thompson’s conference leading 0.253 kill efficiency and 36 blocks helped her nab 2nd Team All-Conference. Savannah Hollander was named All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Washington finished second in conference and grabbed a 7-3 conference record as the Demons were taken down by Assumption in the Class 3A Region 8 quarterfinal, giving Washington a 17-18 record. Leighton Messinger was tabbed Conference Player of the Year and the only 1st Team nominee for the Demons.

Messinger was first in the conference in kills with 343, second in the conference in efficiency with a 0.229 clip, 12th in digs, and fifth in aces with 43. Messinger will be someone to keep an eye on as this was only her sophomore campaign.

Ella Greiner, fifth in kills, and Lauren Hinrichsen, sixth in assists, earned 2nd Team All-Conference. They will also be returning for the Demons as this was their junior season. Remy Messinger and Maci Williams were named All Conference Honorable Mention.

Mount Pleasant grabbed third place in the conference after going 2-3 in the conference tournament. Keokuk knocked the Panthers out of the Class 4A Region 8 quarterfinal round. Alex Scott, a sophomore, earned 2nd Team All-Conference with her 132 kills and team-leading kill efficiency of 0.064. Scott also had 18 blocks, 266 digs, and 36 aces, which ranks 9th in the conference.

Emma Starr and Courtney Raub end their Panther careers as All-Conference Honorable Mentions with Starr tallying 141 kills and Raub ranking 9th in assists.

Keokuk finished fourth in the conference and ended their season with an 11-16 record after falling to Clear Creek Amana in the Class 4A Region 8 semifinals. MaKenna Altgilbers, a senior, ranked third in the conference in kills with 292 and fifth in the conference with a 0.169 kill efficiency. Altgilbers also blocked 36 shots and finished with 45 aces.

Kendra Boatman had 39 aces and 455 assists for the season, which earned the Sophomore a 2nd Team All-Conference nod. MaKayla Altgilbers and Kylie Sisk were named All Conference Honorable Mentions.

Fort Madison finished in fifth in conference and Burlington in sixth place. The Bloodhounds were eliminated from the postseason by Burlington and the Grayhounds lost to Oskaloosa in the next round of Class 4A Region 8.

Fort Madison’s senior middle hitter, Taylor Johnson, was tabbed 1st Team All-Conference as she ranked sixth in kills with 180 on the season. Additionally, Johnson was fourth in blocks with 40 for the year. Mara Smith as named 2nd Team All-Conference with 601 assists for the Sophomore ranking her second in the conference. Gabrielle Ruble and Aijalynn Jenkins were All-Conference Honorable Mentions.

Anna Buxton, junior, ranked second in kills (337), seventh in efficiency (0.159), and 12th in aces with 32. This earned Buxton a spot on the All-Conference 1st Team. Avery Levins also tallied 32 aces as she was named 2nd Team All-Conference. Lily Newell and Sydney Schroeder were named All-Conference Honorable Mentions.


Academic All-Conference

Player Team

Anna Buxton Burlington

Avery Levins Burlington

Kiersten Wax Burlington

Lilly Bergren Fairfield

Jolie Crile Fairfield

Kaitlyn Greiner Fairfield

Brenna Guiter Fairfield

Olivia Hollander Fairfield

Maddie Jones Fairfield

Lucy Kuehl Fairfield

Kaylee Light Fairfield

Grace Lyon Fairfield

Cassidy Mallinger Fairfield

Avery Morris Fairfield

Madison Shaw Fairfield

Briana Steele Fairfield

Haleigh Strickland Fairfield

Rowan Terrell Fairfield

Claire Thompson Fairfield

Aijalynn Jenkins Ft. Madison

Taylor Johnson Ft. Madison

Amy Yasenchok Ft. Madison

Gabrielle Ruble Ft. Madison

Lauryn Helmick Ft. Madison

Alexus Beebe Ft. Madison

Mazie Hotop Ft. Madison

Brylie Lorence Ft. Madison

MaKayla Altgilbers Keokuk

MaKenna Altgilbers Keokuk

Eden Schilling Keokuk

Giavani Stewart Keokuk

Gracie Thompson Keokuk

Camryn Atterberg Keokuk

Addison Spicer Keokuk

Macy Jones Mt. Pleasant

Addison Peck Mt. Pleasant

Sonya Simon Mt. Pleasant

Savannah Slobodnik Mt. Pleasant

Madison Helling Mt. Pleasant

Elaina Holtkamp Mt. Pleasant

Addison McGehearty Mt. Pleasant

Courtney Raub Mt. Pleasant

Emma Starr Mt. Pleasant

Kylie Walderbach Mt. Pleasant

Ella Greiner Washington

Lauren Hinrichsen Washington

Maya Murphy Washington

Claire Robinson Washington

Rachel Sands Washington

Jade Sheetz Washington

Claire Stalder Washington

Ruby Witthoft Washington

Jacey Berg Washington

Caitlin Kroll Washington

Rylee Libe Washington

Remy Messinger Washington

Maci Williams Washington