SEC Boys’ Basketball All-Conference List: Payton Hagans Tabbed SEC Player of the Year

Mt. Pleasant, IA- The Southeast Conference (SEC) released their All-Conference teams for Boys’ basketball today and Mt. Pleasant and Keokuk highlighted the First Team.

Mt. Pleasant ended the season with a 13-8 overall record and an 8-2 conference record to capture their second conference title in a row, going undefeated at home in conference play.

Payton Hagans was the star of the SEC, taking home a unanimous First Team All-Conference honor along with SEC Player of the Year. Hagans ranked 1st in the conference in points per game at 22.8, 2nd in steals with 2.3 per game, 5th in assists per game, 1st in three pointers made per game, and second in free throws made per game. His 22.8 points per game ranks 5th in Class 3A, and 24th in the state of Iowa. Hagans also finished his career with 1,205 points.

Also clinching a spot on the First Team for the Panthers was sophomore guard Christian Stacy. He took a big step forward in his development as he went from averaging 2.5 points per game as a freshman to the 4th most in conference at 14.6 points per game. Stacy also boasted the best free throw percentage in the conference with 78.4% clip from the charity stripe.

Senior Nate Stroud earned Second Team All-Conference as the anchor of the Panthers post game. He ranked 13th in points per game at 10.1, 3rd in rebounds per game at 7 per game, and 4th in blocks per game at 0.9.

Receiving All-Conference Honorable Mention was Noah Lange and Avin Truong. Lange was effective on the offensive glass with 2.3 offensive rebounds per game, which ranked 5th, and efficient in making his shots with a field goal percentage of 56.4%.

Truong distributed the ball well with 2.5 assists per game and played tough defense, stealing the ball 1.3 times per game.

Fort Madison and Keokuk finished with the same conference record of 7-3, but the Bloodhounds won the tiebreaker to finish second in the conference standings.

Hunter Cresswell was a unanimous choice for First Team All-Conference for Fort Madison. He scored the 5th most points in the conference with 13.9 per game, ranked 2nd in rebounding, and 4th in free throws made per game.

Nolan Guzman and Dayton Lamar grabbed spots on the Second Team. Lamar was a fierce rim protector, leading the conference in blocks per game at 2.5 and ranking 2nd in offensive rebounds per game at 3.3.

Guzman knew how to score as his effective field goal percentage of 57.6 ranked 4th in the SEC.

Leif Boeding and Julian Dear were named All-Conference Honorable Mentions. The Bloodhounds finished with an 11-10 record.

Keokuk had senior Diego Garcia and sophomore Jaxon Clark, unanimous, selected to the SEC First Team.

Garcia was the de facto leader of the Chiefs as he led the conference in assists with 4.2 per game, while taking the ball away 2.1 times per game, which ranked 5th in the SEC.

Clark played to his 6’9 stature, ranking 2nd in the SEC in points per game at 20, led the conference in rebounds per game (11.5), field goal percentage (65.5%), and ranked 2nd in blocks with 2.3 rejections per game.

Brenton Hoard’s conference leading 2.6 steals per game helped nab him Second Team honors. He also ranked 3rd in assists per game and 2nd in free throw percentage.

Chase Eckland and Tramell Smith earned All-Conference Honorable Mention honors. The Chiefs finished 17-7 on the year and one game away from the state tournament.

Burlington and Washington finished tied with 4-6 conference records. Shaye Stringer was the lone First Team selection for the Grayhounds as he averaged 11.5 points per game and ranked 3rd in steals per game.

Christos Kantzavelos, unanimous, earned Second Team honors. He ranked second in assists per game and fourth in steals per game. Burlington finished 6-16 overall.

Logan McDole was a unanimous choice for the SEC Second Team for the Demons. McDole averaged 12.3 points per game, while shooting 38% from deep.

Drew Conrad and Roman Roth were named All-Conference Honorable Mentions. Washington finished 6-15.

Lastly, Fairfield finished with a 0-10 record in conference play and a 1-21 record overall. Riley Perkins ranked 8th in points per game at 12.1 and 4th in assists per game, which earned him a unanimous Second Team selection.

Sam Weaton and Luke Konczal earned SEC Honorable Mention.

Academic All-Conference

Evan Hecox Burlington

Adam Johnson Burlington

Christos Kantzavelos Burlington

Nehemiah Lewis Burlington

Tomas Rascon Burlington

Julian Dear Fort Madison

Cade Denning Fort Madison

Carson Rashid Fort Madison

Henry Morris Fort Madison

Leif Boeding Fort Madison

Jan De Gracia Hernandez Fort Madison

Mario Gomez Gutierrez Fort Madison

Cooper Polonsky Fairfield

Ryan Giberson Fairfield

Riley Perkins Fairfield

Luke Konczal Fairfield

Ben Boatright Fairfield

Player Team

Jolie Crile (Manager) Fairfield

Chloe Frescoln (Manager) Fairfield

Hunter Cresswell Fort Madison

Chevy Barnes Keokuk

Drew Campbell Keokuk

Chase Eckland Keokuk

Brenton Hoard Keokuk

Gracie Thompson (Manager) Keokuk

Avin Troung Mount Pleasant

Logan McDole Washington

Luke Schiebel Washington

Brendan Taylor Washington

Noah Greiner Washington

Roman Roth Washington

Seth Shepherd Washington

Andrew Shepherd Washington