Sports, February 24th

Girls’ State Basketball

The matchups are set for the state tournament with Class 5A and 3A set to tip-off the event on Monday, February 26th, at 10 am. Here are Monday’s matchups.

In Class 5A, #1 Johnston is looking to end their season undefeated as the Dragons get the day rolling against #8 Valley, who is 13-10 on the season. #4 Waukee and #5 Ankeny Centennial will follow that game at 11:45 am; Waukee won both matchups this season. #2 Davenport North will take on #7 Cedar Falls, who has just one loss on the season. Lastly, #6 Pleasant Valley’s attempt to repeat will be a tough one as they compete against #3 Dowling Catholic at 3:15 pm to start off their tournament.

Class 3A will aptly have three games on Monday night with their final game starting off the day on Tuesday, February 27th. At 5 pm, #1 Estherville Lincoln Central faces off against #8 Forest City. #4 Mount Vernon takes on #5 Harlan Community. #2 Des Moines Christian takes on #7 Benton Community to round out Monday night in a rematch of last year’s four-seed versus five-seed contest that saw the Bobcats come out on top. #3 Solon will compete against #6 Dubuque Wahlert on Tuesday morning at 10 am to finish up the Class 3A first round as there will be a new champion crowned.

Boys’ Substate Basketball

In Substate 5, Holy Trinity Catholic will take on Winfield-Mt. Union at Fairfield High School tonight at 7 pm with the winner advancing to state. KILJ 105.5 FM,, will be on the call with the pregame show at 6:45 pm. 

Class 2A Substate 4, West Burlington will face off against Cascade tonight at Iowa City High at 7 pm. 

For Class 3A Substate 5, Keokuk will face off against Williamsburg in the substate final on Monday, February 26th, at 6:30 pm at Alliant Energy PowerHouse.

All-Southeast Conference Teams

The boys’ wrestling and girls’ basketball and wrestling all-conference teams were released and here is the breakdown. 

For boys’ wrestling, Fort Madison finished atop the conference standings finishing 5-0. The Bloodhounds touted five All-Conference 1st Teamers in Luke Vanderpool, Nolan Riddle, Isaac Thacher, Teague Smith, and Cory Arnett. Noah Swigart, Logan Pennock, Cade Goodrich, and Joe Hartman made the All-Conference 2nd Team. Riddle was also named SEC Wrestler of the Year. 

Washington finished in second with a 4-1 conference mark as All-Conference 1st Team in the 132-pound weight class Aaron Boone was the lone Demon to qualify for state. Caden Greiner and Chase Greiner were also tabbed 1st Team. Lane Schrock and Blaine Rees made the 2nd Team All-Conference list.

Fairfield’s 3-2 conference mark was helped along by 1st Team All-Conference members: Cael McCabe, Zandrik Allison, and Dain Burkhart. Aiden Westercamp, Cason Miller, Dre Smithburg, and Logan Johnson made the 2nd Team for All-Conference.

Burlington was led by Braxton Hutchinson, the lone state qualifier, and Adrian Perez-Hall for 1st Team All-Conference members as the Grayhounds nabbed a 2-3 record. Lathan Hand and Salomon Cordero garnered 2nd Team All-Conference honors. 

Mt. Pleasant’s lone win in conference came against Keokuk as Landon Beckler was the lone Panther to be named to the All-Conference list as he grabbed 2nd Team All-Conference for the 106-pound weight class. 

Lastly, Robert Howes for Keokuk was named 1st Team All-Conference in the 126-pound weight class as the Chiefs finished 0-5 in conference duals. 

Moving to girls’ wrestling, Fort Madison dominated with nine wrestlers being named to the All-Conference list. Hailey Kemper, Lucille Zimmerman, Briena Fenton, Mara Smith, Chloe Sokolik, Kat Diprima, Tatum Peers, and Sadie Brandon were all named 1st Team All-Conference. 

Burlington beat the Bloodhounds with 12 wrestlers being named to the All-Conference list with Aliya Snyder, Sarina Cline, Adrian Thorton, and Kiara Rodriguez making the 1st Team All-Conference list. Macklyn Palmer, Gracie Navarre, Kyra Nash, Sarah Cruz, Gemma Plummer, Lauren Briggs, Shariah Hart, and Mia Oddo grabbed 2nd Team honors. 

Fairfield and Keokuk each had two wrestlers on the All-Conference list. For the Trojans, Samantha Lyons nabbed 1st Team honors and Vianney Gonzalez grabbed 2nd Team honors. 

Keokuk was led by Jalyiah Gardner as she was also named CO-SEC Wrestler of the Year with Mara Smith. Jaylah Gardner grabbed 2nd Team All-Conference. 

Lastly, Peyton Mowery of Mt. Pleasant was named 2nd Team All-Conference.

The All-Conference list for girls’ basketball was released and Keokuk finished undefeated in conference play followed by Fort Madison at 7-3.

Keokuk, aptly, makes up three of the six spots of the All-Conference 1st Team in Makenna Altgilbers, Camryn Atterberg, and Kendra Boatman. Makayla Altgilbers and Irelynn Seay made the 2nd Team, while Allison Ames and Suzie Whitaker nabbed All-Conference Honorable Mention. 

Boatman was named SEC Player of the Year as she ranked second in points per game (18.6), and first in assists (5) and steals per game (4.4). 

Dayonna Davis was named All-Conference 1st Team for Fort Madison as Aijalynn Jenkins and Irelynd Sargent grabbed 2nd Team honors. Halle Menke and Hadley Wolfe were named All-Conference Honorable Mention. 

Mylee Stiefel nabbed 1st Team All-Conference honors for Burlington. Daphne Brown and Kylee Hill made the All-Conference Honorable Mention list. 

Savannah Hollander of Fairfield grabbed the final 1st Team All-Conference spot. Faith Jones and Briana Steele earned All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Mt. Pleasant’s leading scorer and the conference’s third best free throw shooter, Abby Carthey, nabbed 2nd Team All-Conference honors. Seniors Juliana Burns and Hailey Parrott were named All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Washington was led by Adalyn Long, who grabbed 2nd Team All-Conference, while Kendall Hinrichsen and Maci Williams made the All-Conference Honorable Mention list. 

College Basketball

The #4 Iowa women’s team will attempt to get back in the win column tomorrow, February 25th, at home against Illinois at noon.

The Iowa State women’s team will compete against BYU tonight at 6 pm.

The #6 Iowa State men’s team will host West Virginia today at 1 pm. 

The Iowa men’s team will travel to face off against #12 Illinois today at 1:15 pm. 

This Day in Sports History

1978 – Kevin Porter, NJ, sets a then-NBA record with 29 assists in a game.

1987 – LA Lakers center Kareem Abdul-Jabbar scores his 36,000th NBA point in a 97-93 win over the Suns in Phoenix.

2013 – 55th Daytona 500: Jimmie Johnson wins his second Great American Race; Danica Patrick is the first female driver to start from pole position; also best-ever finish by a woman at Daytona (8th).