Sports, May 5th

High School Track and Field

The Mt. Pleasant girls team defended their Southeast Conference championship and the boys team for Washington repeated as conference champs. For the girls, Andi Scott won the 400 meter dash with a time of 1 minute and 1 second. The team of Natalie Freeman, Mica Carter, Alexis Wagner, and Elsie Lange took the 4×400 meter relay. The 800 sprint medley team of Bailey Jalas, Tristian Shull, Courtney Raub, and Andi Scott and the distance medley team of Olivia McCormick, Alex Scott, Carter, and Abby Carthey grabbed wins. Elsie Lange won the long jump with a leap of 16 feet 1.5 inches and Ava English won the shot put with a throw of 36 feet 10.5 inches.

The boys team finished with 148 points to take 2nd place. Will Davidson picked up wins in the 100 meter dash, and the 110 meter hurdles. The 4×400 meter relay team of Jacob Richtman, Gabe Feldmann, Tyler Johnson, and Mason Sloat grabbed the win and Avin Truong won the long jump with a leap of 21 feet 10 inches. Lastly, Isaac Jerrel tossed the shot put 52 feet 4 inches to win the event.

The Southeast Iowa Super Conference meet produced one new conference champion as Mediapolis repeated as the boys South title winner and on the girls side, West Burlington Notre Dame and Pekin defended their titles for the South and North, respectively. Columbus is the new champion as they won the North title by 71 points.

For the North girls division, Winfield-Mt. Union took 6th place and WACO finished in 8th place. For the Wolves, Keetyn Townsley won the 100 meter hurdles with a time of 17.14 seconds. Townsley also joined Josie Nelson, Tessa Huston, and Keyreana Sharar in the 4×100 meter shuttle hurdle that finished with a time of 1 minute and 12 seconds winning the event. For WACO, Zoey Dennler won the 400 meter hurdles and the distance medley team of McKenzie Vrandenburg, Dennler, Halle Shelman, and Elyssa Graber took 2nd place.

Danville finished in 2nd place in the girls South division, Central Lee claimed 5th place, and New London finished in 6th. For Danville, Alaina Gourley won the 400 meter dash, 800 meter dash, the 1500 meter run, and the 3000 meter run. With a time of 1 minute and 12 seconds, Alexis Dietsch took the 400 meter hurdles. Kenna Furnald won the long jump with a leap of 16 feet 1 inch. Taylor Jones, Furnald, Jaeda Molle, and Miya Orbiana took the 800 sprint medley.

Shifting to the boys side for the North division, Winfield-Mt. Union was the runner-up and WACO finished in 3rd place. For the Wolves, Kohlby Newsom won the 800 meter run and Gabriel Hemsworth took the 400 meter hurdles with a time of 57.09 seconds. Cam Buffington grabbed the long  jump crown with a leap of 21 feet 4.5 inches. The team of Sheaden Adams, Ty Scorpil, Newsom, and Hemsworth won the 4×400 meter relay and the team of Caleb Giese, Abram Edwards, Buffington, and Hemsworth took the 800 sprint medley. Lane Genkinger, Edwards, Scorpil, and Newsom won the distance medley.

WACO won the 4×200 meter relay with the team of Braden Spain, Isaac Oswald, Mason Miller, and Clayton Miller. Oswald and Mason Miller joined Louden Huisenga, and Simeon Reichenbach to take the 4×110 meter shuttle hurdle.

For the boys South division, Central Lee grabbed 3rd place, Danville took 5th, and New London rounded it out in 6th place. Grabbing wins for Central Lee was Thomas Eschman in the long jump, and Brody Fuller in the shot put. AJ Bonnesen won the 3200 meter run for Danville. New London’s lone win came from Cade Benjamin in the high jump with a jump of 6 feet 8 inches.

High School Soccer

The Mt. Pleasant girls team crushed Fairfield last night 9-0. Charice Auwerda and Elly Manning each scored four goals and two assists. Tori Wilson netted one. The Panthers will host Fort Madison on May 8th.

The Mt. Pleasant boys team fell to Fairfield last night 2-1 in overtime. Noah Lange scored the goal for the Panthers. Mt. Pleasant will travel to face off against Fort Madison on May 8th.

The WACO boys team will host Hillcrest Academy tonight.

The Danville boys team handled Wapello last night 11-3 after putting up seven goals in the second half. Colin Pealer and Talan Whaley each scored four goals in the contest as Whaley added four assists to his total. The Bears will host Central Lee today.

The Central Lee boys fell to Columbus last night 2-0.

The Central Lee girls team scraped by with a 2-1 win over Columbus in overtime. The Hawks will take on Burlington Notre Dame on May 8th.

High School Golf

The Mt. Pleasant boys team’s next competition will be on May 10th for the 3A sectional meet.

The Mt. Pleasant girls team will compete in the SEC conference tournament on May 10th.

The boys teams of New London, Winfield-Mt. Union, Danville, and Holy Trinity Catholic will compete in the 1A sectional meet on May 10th.

The girls SEISC competition will be taking place on May 8th.

High School Tennis

The Mt. Pleasant boys team finished as the top team in the conference with an undefeated record. Owen Vansickel entered the singles tournament as the #1 seed and walked away with the gold and All-Conference honors after taking down Hunter Ford of Burlington in two sets, 6-4 and 6-3. Elliot Cook took 4th place. Garrett Flanagan and Jace Hannes of Fairfield won the doubles tournament as they took down Jake Ensminger and Phoenix Watson, both earning All-Conference honors. Gavin Ross and Lou Schimmelpfennig finished in 4th place. The Panthers will compete at the District Meet on May 8th.

Iowa Wesleyan Athletics

The Tiger baseball team earned the 4th seed in the Continental Athletic Conference (CAC) tournament and they will be facing off against Georgia Gwinnett College tomorrow, May 6th.

The Tigers outdoor track and field teams will be competing at the Fighting Scot Outdoor Invitational tomorrow.

This Day in Sports History

1904 – Cy Young pitches the first perfect game in “modern” baseball as the Boston Americans beat Philadelphia Athletics, 3-0.

1973 – 99th Kentucky Derby: Ron Turcotte aboard Secretariat wins in 1:59.4 – fastest Kentucky Derby ever.

1995 – Last basketball game at Boston Garden; Celtics eliminated from playoffs by Orlando Magic, 95-92.