Sports, Saturday, May 14th

College Baseball: Wesleyan’s Beaber Named CAC Coach of the Year

Iowa Wesleyan head baseball coach and Mount Pleasant alum Blake Beaber has been named the Continental Athletic Conference Coach of the Year, the league has announced.

Beaber, who has been with Iowa Wesleyan since 2016, successfully navigated the Tigers through their returning season to the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) this year.

Wesleyan finished their season with an overall record of 21-30 and a third-place finish in the CAC Championships Tournament.

It was the most wins in a single season for the program since winning 24 games in 2012.

Also earning postseason accolades were pitcher Luis Ayesa, Cristian Cordero and Derek Marrufo, who were all All-Conference choices.

College Softball: Krieger Earns All-CAC Honors

Iowa Wesleyan’s Kara Krieger (FR/New London, IA) has earned All-Conference Honorable Mention honors.

In her 99 at-bats this season, Krieger accumulated 34 hits with a .343 batting average, scoring 21 times.

She tallied six doubles and two triples.

Krieger also added 13 RBIs and drew 15 walks.

In the field the former New London standout made 33 outs with a fielding percentage of .975.

Prep Track: State Qualifier List

1A Boys

New London

  • Kade Benjamin – High Jump
  • Carter Allen – Discus
  • Carter Allen – Shot Put
  • Alexander Julian – 3,200m
  • Seth Bailey – 1,600m
  • Rylan Martin – 800m
  • 4×100 relay (Boden Pickle, Reann Seberg, Joel Lacy and Josh Catala)
  • 4×400 relay (Rylan Martin, Kaden Benjamin, Reann Seberg, Alexander Julian)
  • 4×800 relay (Rylan Martin, Alexander Julian, Seth Bailey and Kade Benjamin)

Winfield-Mount Union

  • Cam Buffington – Long Jump


  • Distance Medley Relay (Ethan Unzicker, Cadence Williams, Ty Carr, Ayden Doyle)


  • Shuttle Hurdle Relay  (Zach Schmitz, Mason Miller, Isaac Oswald, Simeon Reichenbach)

1A Girls


  • Kenna Furnald – Long Jump

Winfield-Mount Union 

  • Keetyn Townsley – 100m Hurdles
  • Jobey Malone – Shot Put
  • Shuttle Hurdle Relay (Morgan Grelk, Kayreanna Sharar, Keetyn Townsley, Josie Nelson)

2A Boys


  • Anthony Isley – 200m
  • Kadin Salek – 400m
  • Solomon Zaugg – 1,600m
  • 4×400 relay (Kadin Salek, Levi Arnold, Logan Rosas, Anthony Isley)
  • 4×800 relay (Levi Arnold, Solomon Zaugg, Logan Rosas, Owen Schmidgall)
  • Sprint Medley (Cole Lipper, Anthony Isley, Kadin Salek, Ben Egan)
  • Distance Medley (Logan Rosas, Kadin Salek, Anthony Isley, Cole Lipper)

Van Buren County

  • Anthony Duncan – 400m, 400 hurdles
  • Tyler Stoltz – High Jump

2A Girls


  • 4×800 relay (Jaydon Wirt, Brooklyn Mohele, Haley Steffener, Kyra Anderson)

3A Boys

Mount Pleasant 

  • Will Davidson – 200m, 110 hurdles, Long Jump
  • Isaac Jerrel – Shot Put
  • 4×800 relay (Isaac Rynders, Isaiah Albright, Gabe Feldmann, Jacob Richtman)

3A Girls

  • Kenna Lamm – 100m
  • Abby Blint – 3,000m
  • Jadan Brumbaugh – Shot Put, Discus
  • Distance Medley (Andi Scott, Elsie Lange, Tristian Shull, Abby Blint)