Prep Track and Field: Boys and Girls State Qualifiers for Class 2A

State Track and Field- The state qualifying meets are in the books and the tentative list of qualifiers has been released for the upcoming 2024 Iowa High School State Track and Field Championships. Here’s a look at our local qualifiers for Class 2A.

Boys Class 2A


The Bulldogs will look to defend their state championship from a year ago and have a optimal chance of doing so.

Solomon Zaugg will compete in the 1600 and 3200 after sweeping both events in the state qualifying meet. Owen Schmidgall will also run in the 1600. In the 800-meter run, Logan Rosas enters as the favorite and Owen Schmidgall enters with the seventh best time.

The Bulldogs grabbed first at the state qualifier in the 4×800 (Owen and Will Schmidgall, Zaugg, and Logan Rosas), the 4×110 meter shuttle hurdle (Jackson Hutcheson, Kamden Stotlar, Ben Wolter, and Grady Gunn), the distance medley (Aedin Nelson, Noah Schmidgall, Reese Campbell, and Rosas), the 4×200 (Nelson, Henry Luttenegger, Noah Schmidgall, Kyler Crow), and the 4×100 meter relays (Nelson, Luttenegger, Noah Schmidgall, Crow).

The 4×400 meter relay team also qualified with a time of 3 minutes and 32 seconds.

Nathan Schmidgall claimed second in the 400-meter dash with a time of 53.7 seconds. Logan Rosas took first in the 800-meter run with a time of 1 minute and 59 seconds. Noah Schmidgall won the 200-meter dash with a time of 22.96 seconds.

Lastly, Henry Luttenegger leapt to a second-place finish in the long jump with a distance of 20 feet and 4 inches.

Central Lee

Grant Myhre is the lone Hawk performing as he will participate in the 400-meter dash.

Van Buren County

The team of Bryce Moquin, Izaak Loeffler, Kayden Simmons, and Tyler Stoltz will run in the 4×200 meter relay. Lincoln Bainbridge will step in for Loeffler for the distance medley. Stoltz will then participate in the high jump with an entering height of 6 feet and 1 inch.

West Burlington

Landry Haberichter will challenge for the championship in the 100-meter dash as he enters with just one of three times under the 11-second threshold. Logan Hamma will participate in the 400-meter hurdles and Mason Watkins will compete in the high jump.

The Falcons will also have a 4×100 meter relay team in Maddox Diewold, Eli Oleson, Layton Diewold, and Haberichter.

Girls Class 2A


The Bulldogs will have two relay team competing. The 4×200 meter relay team of Bailey Jackson, Josie Hutcheson, Kira Messer, and Haley Steffener enter with the 15th best time and the team of Grace Holsteen, Paige Steiner, Avery Dietz, and Bryn Wright grabbed an at-large bid for the 4×800 relay.

For a full list of qualifiers follow the links below:

Girls: Girls Qualifiers .

Boys: Boys Qualifiers

The State Track Meet will begin on Thursday, May 16th, and run through Saturday, May 18th, with KILJ bringing live results throughout the competition.